Skip to content

Splish Splash – Bathing the Toddler

April 26, 2014

Splish splash
I was takin’ a bath
‘Long about a Saturday night
baby-tubA rub dub
 Just relaxin’ in the tub
Thinkin’ everything was all right

(yeah, right)

Six kids and I finally get one that doesn’t like taking a bath.  Well, I take that back.  He doesn’t mind being in the tub.  It’s more that there is soap and water splashing on him, and water, and soap on his arms, and on his feet…  He’s not wild about the washing his hair part either.  So, yeah, basically he loves just sitting in the bathtub with water, but actually attempting to get him clean turns him into a screaming banshee.

My husband tells me that if he sings “Raindrops keep falling on my head”  when the shower is spraying on Liam’s head…he’s less likely to have a fit.  I’ve yet to see this miracle happen.  Tonight’s bath wasn’t too awful.  He didn’t freak too much about rinsing his hair, but the soap on his legs was the stuff of nightmares.

I have a friend that tells me it’s a boy thing.  I don’t agree with that.  This is my 3rd boy.  The one before him loved baths.  The first one HATED being dirty so much that he’d ask for 3 or 4 baths a day when he was little.  Boy thing, no.  Liam thing, definitely.

I have found a few things that help.  We have a detachable shower sprayer in that bathroom and he likes to hold it and “wash the soap down” the drain.  That distracts him while I get him washed.  When I’ve got him completely finished, I pull the shower curtain and he gets to wash all the soap down the drain without any help.  When he’s done he usually yells “TURN IT OFF NOW!!!” at the top of his lungs.  At that point, we’re done, so he’s happy to have it over with.

He got a neat bath toy for Christmas.   It’s a boat, complete with “Captain” and several fish, etc.  That has helped a lot in terms of getting him washed up.  One of the fish even has a fingernail brush on it.  He thinks that’s hysterical.  Go figure.  He knows his colors now too.  Bonus!

boat

I’m not even sure why I’m posting this. I guess it was fresh on my mind, since we just finished up his bath.  Also, after 6 kids, I think I was getting a little too smug about it.  People would tell me their kids hated the bath and I’d offer all sorts of advice.  Why wouldn’t I?  Five kids and they all loved it.  Yeah.  It’s good to keep humble.

If you have issues with your toddler taking a bath, you aren’t alone.  If you’re desperate and need  more suggestions, let me know.   I probably have a few more tricks up my sleeve that might help you out.  Or maybe you can help me….he’s almost three and hasn’t outgrown it yet.  Anyone have any ideas?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wvmamaw permalink
    April 26, 2014 9:23 pm

    Maybe he would like to take a bath with Beau. I was taking a bubble bath tonight and he was crying to get in the tub. LOL

    • April 28, 2014 2:42 am

      LOL. did you let him?

Leave a Reply

