Skip to content

Sugarfoot The Fondant Horse

February 6, 2014

Yippie!  I’ve actually been able to get 2 of the four birthday posts up and now it’s time for #3.  Kelsie turned 6 in November and she asked for a horse themed cake.  It’s been interesting to me to see the patterns in the girls’ cakes.  Three years old seems to be the year for Care Bears and 6 years old seems to be the year for horses.

When I did Erin’s horse cake, I drew the horse on the cake and decorated that way.  I’ve been wanting to try doing a fondant sculpture for a while now.  I’ve got a friend that does amazing sculptures and it was either do my own or pay someone else to do it.  I’m not usually one do that (ha) so I searched youtube for a while and found this instructional for making a fondant pony.

I learned quite a bit and hope to do more of these, but I’ll admit that I prefer drawing with icing.

You can see that the fondant was a little too dry in places, but it worked out alright.

Birthday girlie loved it though and that’s all that matters.  She said he needed a great horse name and named him Sugarfoot.  Seemed appropriate to me! Love her toothless grin.

We used the last of the trick candles and it took her several tries to get them all out.  She had a hard time blowing out the candles and giggling at the same time. 😉

One last picture…from vacation to Williamsburg last fall…just because she’s too cute and I can.

Happy Birthday, Kelsie-Roo!  It’s a joy to watch you grow!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

