Skip to content

What is it? Revealed

July 19, 2013

revealed

What a great bunch of guesses on this week’s picture!  I wish I could get some of you that message me to post on the blog.  (hint! hint!) Even if you aren’t correct, the fun is still there! The kids laughed hysterically over the Dr. Pepper guesses.  Of them said “Ok, someone knows you too well and they’re just grasping at straws!”  Now I have to find a way to make Dr. Pepper the picture some week.

When I explained what a placenta was, I received a loud round of “EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!”
For those of you not on Facebook, Sean had a pretty nasty wreck on his bike this week and his face met the gravel road first.  Left a pretty good road rash on his face, but not good enough for this picture.

Those of you that guessed a spider or caterpillar came the closest to the correct answer…but we stumped you this week!  (*shouts of glee from the B house*)

Here is the actual picture.

Tuesday night, Christopher discovered this massive beetle in the back yard.  Everyone was either already in their PJs or getting ready for bed when Sean came blazing through the house yelling, “COME QUICK!  COME QUICK!  Christopher has a bug as big as his FACE!!!”  I think he’s prone to exaggeration…not sure where he gets that from.

I’ll admit though, it was nasty beetle.  I grabbed a mason jar and let them bring it in (ONLY with a lid on) to show the other kids and later we looked it up.   It was a Prionus laticollis or a Broad-necked Root Borer.  I’m pretty sure it was pregnant too.  The ovipositor kept making an appearance and the kids and I thought it was a stinger at first.

Here are a few other pictures.  I let it out of the jar briefly and had the boys stand guard.  That sucker was FAST.  {shudder}

 

and just in case you’d like to see her closer…

Great job, everyone!  Thanks for playing along!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 19, 2013 5:26 pm

    I would have never guessed that one!
    What model Canon do you have?

Leave a Reply

