Skip to content

The Thunder Rolls

July 16, 2013

When I was growing up, we went outside early in the morning and came back when we HAD to.  Right?  Isn’t that how it goes?  My mom never had to kick me outside to play (yeah, right).  Well, today the kids were loud and rowdy and loud and fighting and loud and did I say loud?  It had been crazy hot most of the day and I had already set up the sprinkler for them to play in after the little ones got up from their nap and the big ones had school finished.  I was ready for them to “get outside and play!”

The sprinkler was fun…for about 10 minutes…then the rain rolled in…and the thunder.  They immediate wanted to cut their losses and bolt for the house.  “Get outside and play!”  (Hey!  Don’t judge.  They were LOUD!)

But…but…but…but there’s thunder!

“I haven’t seen any lightning.  You were getting wet anyway.  Just go play.  If you see lightning…then we’ll talk.”

I stepped out on the back porch to keep an eye on things and make sure they were safe…and I looked across the yard and saw this…

That is go-inside-and-bring-your-camera-out-in-the-rain worthy.  Goodness, I love that boy!

Of course, since I already had the camera out with a towel around it to protect it…I had to take picture of them all.

I truly am a blessed momma…even when the thunder rolls.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. WV MAMAW permalink
    July 16, 2013 10:42 pm

    Awesome!

  2. July 16, 2013 10:47 pm

    There is nothing like playing in the rain!!

  3. July 17, 2013 3:55 pm

    What kind/brand of modest swimwear is Erin wearing?

    And just a precaution…My NOAA weather radio always gives this information when the T-storms are in the area…If you can hear thunder, the storm is close enough for you to get struck by lightning.

    • July 17, 2013 5:23 pm

      Erin’s suit is a rash guard and swim skirt combo from Land’s End. She loves it!

      I know. I really was safe. It was way off in the distance and very very far apart. Once it moved closer, we did come in. …and I think you missed one part…they were LOUD! lol

      • July 18, 2013 7:31 am

        Thanks! I’ll have to check Land’s End. My daughter is looking for modest type of swimwear.

        Oh, do I know about LOUD! I do childcare. 🙂

      • July 18, 2013 11:09 am

        I’ve heard through the grapevine that Land’s End suits aren’t as well made this year (thinner). We got that one for Erin last summer. She really likes it. From my perspective, the pattern definitely helps. 😉

Leave a Reply

