Skip to content

Weekend Update

July 13, 2013

I have been thinking lately that I need to get back in the habit of posting an update about our week.  I like having that entry to look back on and see the fun things we’ve done, what has/hasn’t worked, any cute things the kids said or did, just random stuff.  So much of what happens day-to-day gets forgotten.  Some of it NEEDS forgotten.  All the quick-tempered comments, general frustration, basically all the junk…yeah, that needs to just be gone.  The good stuff though, I wish there was a better way to hold on to that.  Kids say SO much that’s just down right funny.  So much of what they do and say is an insight into the personality that God created within them.  I want to cherish those moments and when I look back over the years be able to account for it.

I know I won’t though.  As I get older, it gets harder and harder to remember things.  I used to be able to remember names and dates (like birthdays) without ever getting them mixed up.  Not just my immediate family either.  I could remember friends, their spouses, and kids…not anymore.  If it’s important to remember, I put it on the calendar.  I don’t know if it is just getting older or if it is that as I get older more and more stuff is getting shoved into my brain and it’s only logical that I forget the things that aren’t in the front of my mind all the time.  It’s probably a good combination of all of it.  Either way, if I record it, then I can come back to it later.

With that in mind, here is this week’s recap:

We finished our read-aloud!  I love it when we finish a read-aloud.  It can be my most favorite story ever, and I’m ready for it to just be D.O.N.E when I get to the end.  I think that is because I have such a hard time listening to stories, that when I read them aloud, I’m some-what disengaged.  I’d much rather curl up in the corner with a good book and let the world happen around me.  My kids, LOVE to hear stories though.  I think it’s important for them to hear good stories too, that’s one reason I continue to do it.  Another reason is it is just another great excuse for family time.  Even the little ones gather around when we do our read-aloud.  Those stories are generally over their heads, but they love to listen.  I love the excitement that the older kids share when I close the book at the end of a great chapter and they start bouncing in their seats “OHHHHHHH!  Just ONE more chapter before bed?!  PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE?!”  Sometimes I cave and the excitement in their eyes is such a reward.  Sometimes I make them wait…and the excitement in their eyes is such a reward.  Either way, when the story is good, there is always a reward.

goldengobletWe are studying Egypt and this week we finished The Golden Goblet by Eloise Jarvis McGraw.  The two older kids finished reading Mara, Daughter of the Nile (same author) in the last couple of weeks.  One liked Mara, one didn’t.  They both loved The Golden Goblet though.   Erin figured out part of the plot very early on and was overjoyed when we came to the part where her suspicions were proven true.  She often comes up with some pretty good twists for the plot on stories, but this time she was 100% correct.  She’s already asking what the next book is…I’ll need to look…we keep adding books to the list and I can’t read that fast.

I will add that if you are looking for some wonderful living books to go along with history, Sonlight sure can pick them!  We are enjoying World History so much this time through!  I know I fought making the decision for this year’s curriculum, but I’m so happy with where we landed.  The literature-based curriculum is still such a wonderful fit for our family.

MATH – We’re still plodding ahead.  Kelsie’s doing great and would probably work 8 hours a day on her math book, if I had the time to sit with her to do it.  She’s been spending a lot of time with math games though, so she’s not complaining too much.  The three older kids are keeping pace with their lessons and doing well.  We seem to have one “off day” every week where they forget everything they ever knew about math, so I’m thinking we might just go to a four-day week in that subject.  I’ll only agree to it if THAT is the day they agree to drop though.  😉

LANGUAGE ARTS – I’m really happy with the progress I’ve seen in the kids since we switched to our new year.  This is probably the area that I felt they were the weakest in and they’re holding their own.  Very reassuring to me!

BIBLE – The two older kids are enjoying the book they are working through together.  I still need to find something geared more for Sean’s age/comprehension level and get him on track there.  This year the memorization jumps to two verses a week and the older two fought that some, but after a few weeks they’re starting to find the right pace to study and get them both accomplished by the end of the week.

SCIENCE – Eyes and ears and mouth and throat…there isn’t much to report when we’re studying anatomy.  They’re all still enjoying it though, so that’s good.  It helps when I find them some cool videos to go along with it.

Outside of school, we have a lot going on.  I’m going to continue to be a leader (in a less involved role) with the girls’ American Heritage Girls troop this fall and Andrew is going to be a FIRST Lego League coach.  While those two activities don’t start up, officially, until fall…there is a lot to be done to get ready for the year.

Of course, with all of the things we have going on, that doesn’t mean we don’t have time to play. Even though there have been MASSIVE amounts of rain this month, it is summer!  We’re getting outside and playing and just having every day fun in the sun (around the rain and thunderstorms) and today we made a trip into town as cows.  Normally, we wouldn’t spend the gas money to go into town just for lunch, but today we already had an appointment with the chiropractor.  So…since we were going to be in town, naturally a trip to Chick-Fil-A dressed as cows made sense for lunch.  It definitely helped that it was “Cow Appreciation Day” at Chick-Fil-A and if you came in dressed as a cow…your food was free!  I DO love that FREE word!

This picture cracks me up.  Christopher looks so upset that I was making him do this.  He was one of the more excited of the bunch.  We got out of the truck and as I got ready to take the picture I said “gee, I hope I got the right day.”  At that point he became mortified that he looked like that…on the wrong day.  Bless his heart.  He was fine when they rang up all of our food and said “that’ll be a couple of minutes.” instead of that’ll be $40.  (that’s a random price I just made up…)

They were definitely a cute looking bunch though!  On the way home they all agreed that we will plan better next year and have much more amazing costumes.  Erin was talking about cow spot tuxedos…I’m slightly nervous about the monster I may have created.

but it’s such a cute monster…I mean cow.  ❤ I really wish I had video taped him coming into the store.  He had that cow mouth/nose taped to his binky and walked in saying “Moooooooooooooo  Moooooooooooooo” at the top of his lungs.  So stinkin’ cute!

We hope everyone else is enjoying their summer, learning amazing things, and wearing their spots!

“And I commend joy, for man has no good thing under the sun but to eat and drink and be joyful, for this will go with him in his toil through the days of his life that God has given him under the sun.”  ~Ecclesiastes 8:15

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

