Skip to content

Hurry the Toddler

July 6, 2013

Let’s play a game of “Hurry the Toddler!”  It’ll be FUN!

…said no mom, ever.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace,
patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,
gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

~Galatians 5:22-23 (ESV)

Have you ever tried to hurry a toddler?  Toddlers are adorable.  They have huge eyes and chubby cheeks and that waddle when they are learning to walk…oh, be still my heart!  If you ever want to see why they are so cute, come up with a schedule and try to implement it.  The fact that they are cute keeps us from eating our young. (I would not LITERALLY eat one of my babies…I’m sure you know that…but just in case…)

Now, don’t get me wrong, sometimes you just have to pick them up and take them where you want them to be.  The world happens on a time-table and they need to eventually be able to adapt to that.  I love being able to just go with the flow with my little ones.  That’s honestly one of the reasons we stay home as much as we do.

Sometimes though, we need to be at an appointment.

That is when a toddler would rather play with a toy they haven’t looked at in 2 weeks.  That is when your sweet angel, that barely speaks 20 words, decides it is time to read their favorite book…forty times.  My favorite though, is when they go limp and just refuse to move.   Grown-up plans?  What are those!?  Really, mom, get with the program.

I’m convinced that the verse above about the fruit of the Spirit was written for toddler moms.  There are other verses, sure.  The Bible is clear that patience is a good thing.  Gentleness, goodness, JOY!…all good things.  We’re to learn them, cultivate them and incorporate them into our very being.

Though the fig tree should not blossom,
    nor fruit be on the vines,
the produce of the olive fail
    and the fields yield no food,
the flock be cut off from the fold
    and there be no herd in the stalls,
     yet I will rejoice in the Lord;
    I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

                       ~Habakkuk 3:17-18

I am reminded that in those stages of parenting where I cannot see the end result or even the current fruit on the tree, I will still rejoice in the Lord.  I take joy in the God of my salvation.  Habakkuk prayed and ached for freedom from the Babylonians.  The people of Israel waited and waited and waited…and in the midst of it all, Habakkuk rejoiced in the Lord.

It is easy to get bogged down in the schedule and the day-to-day and “we need to get this done!”   Take heart, especially if you are a toddler mom, 😉 that the God of your salvation is still walking with you and someday…the fruit will be seen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

