Skip to content

Friday Update

March 22, 2013

It’s been almost two months since I posted!  Wow!  How did that happen?!  It hasn’t been especially crazy busy here, but I have been trying to make more of an effort on getting things done and I’m finding that I just don’t have the energy at the end of the day to do a blog post.  I have a running list in my head of things I want to post about though…so maybe I can get some of them done soon!

To give a quick update on how things have been going here:

School is chugging right along.  We’ve had to take a couple breaks, planned and unexpected, for life…but hey that’s how it goes.  We had a funeral to attend last month and it was a huge blessing to be able to be there for family when they needed us without having to worry about what we were missing, etc.  Then we had our annual standardized testing routine.  It’s annoying, but hey we have to do it, so we make it fun and roll with it.  I think we’ve all finally settled into that it just isn’t that big of a deal and doesn’t effect what we do, so it’s a few days of seeing friends we don’t get to see often and then back to work the next week.

The older kids are doing well in their school work.  There are some areas that I’m not satisfied with the curriculum we’re using, so I need to look at making some changes for next year, but I think we might start next year early.  It’ll give us a chance to move on to something we’re all excited about and put some of the stuff that is just irritating us away.

This week, we attempted to help usher Spring in.  We’ve had lots of sunny days…sunny but FREEZING.  It’s just not fair at this stage to see the beautiful rays of sunshine and also see snow blanketing the ground.  It shouldn’t be much longer now.  I hope, I hope, I hope. We did some spring cleaning today and Erin helped me attack the laundry room.  In a couple more weeks I hope we can go through and put the boots away.  That should clear up a huge amount of the mess.  I also went through the house and just grabbed stuff and filled a trash bag.  I don’t even know where all of these pieces of paper are coming from.  I think maybe they are breeding at night while we sleep.

I haven’t blogged about it yet, but I started milling wheat for flour in January and we have been absolutely loving the fresh bread (all the other goodies that come with that).  Andrew and I don’t as much of it as the kids do, but they all groan when we say that we need to buy a loaf at the store now.  Yes!  Score one for nutrition! My friend, Susan has given me a list of questions she wants me to answer, so that blog post should be coming soon.  I’ve taken some good pictures too, so I’ll make sure to add those in.

Otherwise, we are doing well.  Our American Heritage Girl troop keeps us busy and it is that time of year to start looking at summer activities.  Hopefully we’ll be able to build on the swimming that the kids did last year and incorporate Kelsie into that as well.

It’s late and I needed to head to bed a while ago, so I’ll call it good for now.  Hope this finds everyone well!

~Michele

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

