Skip to content

A little homeschool encouragement

August 23, 2012

It’s that time of year again.  Summer seems to get shorter and shorter every year.  I remember loving and hating Labor Day as a kid.  I loved that it was a long weekend and we’d usually do something as a family and my dad might even make it in for the weekend and we could do something with him, too.  If nothing else, it usually meant swimming for the last few days of summer until school started.  Now, the pools are closed half way through August because the public schools are back in session.  (That was a REAL bummer this year, since we bought pool passes.)    I hated that summer was over and it was time again to go to school.

For some reason the last two weeks of August bring out a big rebellious streak in me.  Even if we were GOING to do school those two weeks, now I don’t want to.  I want to go to the park in the middle of the day and enjoy that we’re the only ones there…with the exception of a few other homeschooling families. I like going to the store – even when I have nothing to buy.  LOL  “LOOK kids!  There is NO ONE here!!!”  Yes, I’m weird.  I especially like to make the kids go outside and play at random times during the day.  “Quick!  Everyone, let’s go outside!

Why?

Because we can!!!

It’s also the time of year when I’ve notice most new homeschool parents struggle.  They’re nervous.  “What if I can’t do this?”  (You can…)  “What if I mess them up?” (Well, you might, but they’ll be less messed up…)  “I can’t even get us dressed every day.”  (That’s ok, you’ll get there…you don’t HAVE to get dressed every day if you don’t want to.  PJs are great!)

This year, my online homeschool lists seem to have more previously-public-but-bringing-them-home-now parents who were a little sad about the official “first day of school” coming and going…and their kiddo didn’t get on that big yellow bus.  That’s ok.  I’ve never put any of my kids on a bus and some days I’m sad about that.  😉  I think it’s natural to have pangs of grief when we change from one thing to another.  Even if we’re super excited about the new thing, if we feel we’re giving something up…it’s natural.

So, to encourage all you INCREDIBLE, AMAZING, LOVING, READY-TO-TACKLE-IT-ALL homeschool moms (and dads) out there…I ran across this and wanted to share.  I especially liked that religion isn’t mentioned on it at all.  While we do homeschool, in part, because of religious reasons…a lot of people don’t.  It’s nice to know the data backs us up from every corner.

Have a great year, everyone!  Happy Home Educating!!!

 

Homeschool DominationCreated by: CollegeAtHome.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erica Hall permalink
    August 24, 2012 10:39 pm

    I am a little nervous about this year. We are officially starting school-k4 for Ethan this year. I am using Abeka (which is what my school used/uses)…I am excited about our new adventure, yet still nervous about teaching such a small one(I have only taught third grade level). Keep me in your thoughts and prayers!

  2. August 25, 2012 11:45 am

    You know there are days that I am so jealous of my friends who send their kids to school. There are days that I want a break. There are days that I just don’t want to do it. We have more jammie days than uniform days. But I am glad this is what God called us to do. Not even because of what statistics say, but because I want to pour my life into my children. *I* want to teach them how to read, how to write and how to do math. I want to be the best teacher and the worst teacher they ever had. They will tell you I am not always the best and I am often the worst. lol. Childhood is too short to spend couped up in a school room with 30 of your closest friends and enemies. 🙂

    All that to say, thanks for the encouragement.

    susan

Leave a Reply

