Skip to content

Great Expectations

June 19, 2012

This summer, Andrew has been busy working on building new beds for the girls.  To help him out, Christopher and I have been handling the mowing.  I LOVE to mow.  Not that sitting on the tractor and going in circles around my house is particularly fun (although when I get to the part that I get to make figure eights to finish it off, I do smile a lot), but it’s a short-term job with a long-term benefit.  It gives me a lot of satisfaction to finish mowing and to look across the yard and enjoy having the project finished.  Usually, I even get to enjoy it for a few days before the weeds are popping up every where and taunting me that I need to mow again.  I like having a job completed.

When I pulled up WordPress to write this post, I looked in my “draft” folder and found 4 or 5 posts with similar titles to this one and notes jotted in each one.   This must be a topic that comes to my mind a lot.

I’ll confess.  Here is what I want…i.e. my great expectation.

I want my house perfect.  Perfect.  Not just clean.  I want it spotless.  I want it ORGANIZED.  Oh goodness, I’m getting giddy at the thought of organized.  I want every thing to have its place and every place to have its thing.  Can you relate?

I want the laundry done.  Washed, folded, put away.  I want every item in every drawer to FIT the person it belongs to.  I want shoes to not pinch toes.  Socks…those pesky socks will not only have a match, but they won’t have holes in them either!

With clean laundry, I must have clean kids!  Kids so clean their skin squeaks…okay, maybe not that clean.

I want the dishes washed and put away and not to have more chips than a chocolate chip cookie. 

Goodness, I could go on and on with this list and I’d be wore out when I finished.  Can’t you just see it?  The house sparkles when light hits it because it’s perfect.

Now, here’s the real kicker.  All that stuff up there…and all that stuff I didn’t list…that’s not what I really want.

What I really want…do I dare say it?  What I really want…is for it to STAY perfect.  That’s what I want.  That is what I expect.  Every day I start to do whatever cleaning chore there is and this is the expectation in my mind.  “I’ll just wash these dishes and I won’t have to do it again.”

“Ahhhh, the laundry is ALL caught up…now I’m good and won’t have to do it again.”

No matter how many times you save the world, it always manages to get back in jeopardy again. Sometimes I just want it to stay saved! You know, for a little bit? I feel like the maid; I just cleaned up this mess! Can we keep it clean for… for ten minutes!”  ~Mr. Incredible

Yeah, right.

Why do we do this to ourselves??   Do you have any idea the amount of angst I could save myself if I just let this one little bitty expectation go?  I think it’s because there is a mixed up view of expectations and standards.  I believe it is possible to lessen our expectations without lowering our standards.  I just have the hardest time putting that into practice.

*sigh*

It really is time to wise up.  It’s time for me to sit back and notice what I have done and to see it is good.  The Almighty Himself didn’t do everything in one day.  He even knew it wasn’t going to stay perfect forever, yet He did it anyway.

After all, I don’t like being bored and if the house stayed perfect, I’m sure I’d be bored.

The wicked are waiting to destroy me, but I will ponder your statutes.  To all perfection I see a limit; but your commands are boundless.  Oh, how I love your law! I meditate on it all day long.
~Psalm 119:95-97


4 Comments leave one →
  1. JoAnn permalink
    June 19, 2012 7:41 am

    Understand the whole thing…from the frustration to the knowledge of God.

    I remember the days that I wanted to go sweep the roof….at least I’d be alone for a while and it would stay clean. I never did it though…..

    • June 19, 2012 8:03 am

      Sweep the roof! That’s genius!

  2. June 19, 2012 9:19 am

    I think one reason cutting grass can feel so good is we can see the accomplishment. Sure it grows back but not nearly as fast as the laundry, the dishes, the dust, the messes that “grow” back in the house. We can feel like we’ve accomplished something and we can see it. Oh, and there aren’t any little ones running behind us and erasing our hard work (grass doesn’t grow back immediately).

  3. June 20, 2012 9:14 am

    I can relate.

    Susan

Leave a Reply

