Skip to content

Too Blessed To Be Stressed

June 4, 2012

“Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night! ”
(Can you name that movie?) 

Lately, like the last 11 years or so, I’ve felt like that could be part of my life’s motto.  If you know a homeschool mom or just a mom with more than the 2.2 standard kids, you’ve heard all the comments that WE hear.  I think one I hear the most is “What do your days look like?” or a variation on that theme.  “I can’t imagine how you EVER get anything done!”

Truth be told, I don’t get a lot of extra projects finished.  I’ve wised up and finally stopped starting them.  Cleaning out MY closet is going to have to wait a while…maybe another decade.  I hope my friends will forgive my awful sense of fashionI figure if I wait long enough, it’ll be back in style again, right?   I try to remember to put things on the calendar if I know they’ll need done a few months down the road.  Otherwise, the saying goes “out of sight, out of mind.”

I often tell people there is certainly never a dull moment in my house.  I can’t really say never (although I do) because we do have down time/quiet time/nap time and most days there is a little quiet…for at least a little bit.

My newest mantra though is the title of this post.  I’m simply too blessed to be stressed.  Don’t get me wrong, I do not wake up to a beautiful scene from The Sound of Music.  My hills are certainly alive, but sometimes it sounds more like a screech-owl than Julie Andrews.  However, I know my crazy days will end all too soon.  My oldest is 11 and I know I’m going to blink and the baby will be 11…and then grown.  So, for now, I don’t clean my closet.  There are worse things that I could put off.

  • I could put off encouraging a love for the Lord.
  • I could put off listening to a new reader.
  • I could put off kissing away tears.
  • I could put off singing and rocking my baby to sleep.
  • I could put off teaching compassion.
  • I could put off teaching respect.
  • I could put off potty training…oh wait…I did that already.  WHOOPS!
  • this list could go on forever…

…You get the idea, right?

Yes, my hands are full – and so is my heart.  I’m learning more and more about myself every day and it’s usually a very small pair of hands that lead me to discovery.

There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens:

a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

My time is now and my time is my family.  I’m too blessed to be stressed and I’m grateful for every bit of it.   This is me…fastening my seatbelt.  😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 3:22 pm

    Thank you! It seems like I need reminders lately to put my priorities in order. This was a good one!

Leave a Reply

