Skip to content

Friday Wrap-up

May 18, 2012

As we were driving back from town today, I kept thinking of a race car and how I’ve heard the phrase “zero to sixty in……” all my life.  The odd part was, I’m not sure I can think of any instance where I knew how that phrase ended.  Thank goodness for technology, a quick Swagbucks search (yes…Swagbucks…it’s a good thing!) and I now know.

Present performance cars are capable of going from 0 to 60 mph in under 6 seconds, while exotic cars can do 0 to 60 mph in between 3 and 4 seconds.

Some weeks, I think we’re lucky to consider ourselves a performance car.  Other weeks, ohhhhhhh….I get to be exotic!  This was neither.  This was a snail week.  This was a – curl up in your shell and stick your head out when you have to – week.  Here you thought I was going to have something amazing to share today, didn’t you?

A quick school run-down:

  • More World War I.
  • Math has moved into measuring angles, a week of math puzzles, and that torturous long division again.
  • Spelling is fun and even Kelsie and Michaela join us for that.
  • For some reason handwriting was agonizing this week.
  • Memory work for the older two has slowed down.  However, that’s understandable, they are 8 verses into the chapter and reciting that every night can be a little daunting.
  • “Little Britches” by Ralph Moody is absolutely the best read-aloud we’ve ever had in our home school journey.  The entire family ADORES this book!!!  We’re even exhibiting great restraint and not reading ahead on the nights that Daddy isn’t home, he is just as caught up in it as we are.
  • MOM loves the Wordly Wise 3000 vocabulary workbooks.  Loves, loves, loves them.  The two kids…not so much, but they’re learning TONS and that’s good for them.
  • Someone giving a science loving boy a book about a gazillion (and one) experiments any kid can do with regular old household objects, is about like giving pickles and ice cream to a pregnant woman.  😉

In other areas:

  • Liam is up to 4 teeth on the top and 3 on the bottom, with 1 barely starting to poke through.  He’s got the absolute cutest grin.  He has gotten so confident in his walking that if you pretend to chase him he turns and runs squealing the other direction.  (That was one of Christopher’s favorite games.)  He’s also added himself to the nightly bedtime routine.  He will follow us down the hall and lean over to give each of the kids a hug once they are in their bed, then he will pucker to give them a kiss.  After all the hugs and kisses are given out, he waves and says “nigh nigh”.  The room usually is filled with “Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww” at that point.  ❤
  • Michaela has started to learn a few of her letters has really started to love singing lately.  She sits next to Liam in the truck, so if he starts to fuss, she sings Pat-a-Cake to him or Rock-a-bye the bear (a Wiggles song – his current favorite).  She has started to ask for her hair in braids every day, which isn’t possible yet, but she continues to ask.  I  did manage to get one braid in this week that she loved.  It won’t be long until I can do more.  She’s also outgrown another pair of shoes…that’s two sizes in as many months.
  • Kelsie wrote several letters this week, without any help.  A few of them were backwards…so I’m helping her to fix that.  She started making up her own language today while we were in town, too.  It’s a little eerie (at least to me) that Sean totally understands her.  🙂

I think that pretty much sums it up.  There were lots of things this week that prompted me to think “Oh, I should grab my camera for that.” but I didn’t.  Partially because there were other things going on and partially because I’m trying to enjoy the moment a little more and not try to capture it.  I think I’m finding a good balance.

That will bring us to the last order of business…this week’s What is it? Wednesday.  There were several pretty good guesses!  Megan was the closest guess though.  It wasn’t the bell of my trombone.  It was the bell of Andrew’s trumpet.  There’s even a bonus in the full picture – Erin was posing!

Have a great weekend!

Michele

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2012 7:53 pm

    oh well. I must not have known about Andrew’s instrument of choice. Thought for sure I got that one right.

    Megan

    • May 19, 2012 10:07 pm

      I’m impressed you remembered that I played trombone! You and Sharon both pretty much had it right, just not specific. 😉

Leave a Reply

