Skip to content

Birthday Cakes:2011

April 30, 2012

The really good thing about making birthday cakes for my kids…I love it.  I love seeing their faces.  I love how they gush over how wonderful they are (even when I think I BOMBED it.)  What I love best though?  Even in the little things, God is teaching me.

I’m the first to admit that I’m not the most patient person.  Sometimes, that alone is a serious understatement.  I caught myself earlier this week, when two of us were really frustrated with a math lesson, tempted to just pick up the book and throw it across the room.  Then it dawned on me.  I wonder how I’d react if one of the kids did that to a cake I made them.  Yeah, I’m not kidding anyone.  I’m not the teacher around here.

Then the song “he’s still working on me” popped into my head…

Here are the birthday cakes from last year.  I put them in a slide show to make it a little easier to view.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Christopher’s 10th birthday – He wanted red, white & blue.  It’s a two layer cake.  9×13 on the bottom layer and the top layer was made with the Wilton star pan.

Michaela’s 2nd birthday – Curious George.  She loves “Georgie”

Erin’s 9th birthday – Rapunzel cake.  She had a lot of requests for this one.  She wanted a Topsy turvy cake (top layer is bigger than the bottom), fondant (that was the HUGE one), hair from Rapunzel, flowers, her name, the number 9. I think I got them all in there…but it made for a different looking cake.

Kelsie’s 4th birthday – Care Bears.  Last year her cake was a yellow Care Bear.  This year…pink!

Sean’s 7th birthday – Agent P (or in this case S) from Phineas & Ferb.

One Comment leave one →
  1. PackerFan permalink
    April 30, 2012 4:15 pm

    I just love your cakes! You are so creative! I want a piece of each one!

Leave a Reply

