Skip to content

Friday Wrap-up

April 20, 2012

This had been a very productive and fun week of school.  I tried something different this week with the kids’ planners and it worked — LOVE it when that happens.  Normally, I stay up pretty late over the weekend (because that’s when I can get Liam to sleep) and put assignments for the week in an assignment book for the two older kids.  Then I write Sean’s out on a sheet of paper.  Since we do our core subjects together, some of it is just repeat copy work for me, but they like this method of having their own planner better than what we had used in the past.  After staying up late to get the kitchen cleaned, I decided I’d just put their assignments in on Monday morning when we started school and they were working.  I’m not sure what about that changed, but Monday I decided to sit with the older two and have them write their  own assignments in while I walked them through.  During that time, I wrote out Sean’s.

Now, I’ll give you that their planners weren’t as neat as I would have liked it, but ultimately…who cares?  They can read it.  I didn’t have to stay up late or copy all of that over and over (and let’s face it…they are the ones that can use the practice at neatness and writing quickly).  Yes, it took a while.  Yes, they were a little disgruntled to find that time hadn’t been all we were doing for school that day (HA!).  It has made the week flow a lot better though.  We’ll see how next week goes.  They’ve already written it out, so we won’t have to do that on Monday.

I know that some people are probably thinking, “you should have done that before now.”  Yeah, maybe.  You live and learn, right?

Our planned (as in part of the curriculum) science experiments should be  on electricity and magnetism.  Sonlight uses Usborne’s Electricity and Magnetism book and I’ll be honest and say it’s just “alright”.  It helped my 7 & 9-year-old understand some things, but the 10-year-old (who loves science) knew more than the book presented at times.  The experiments themselves were a bit of a bore to get through and a little tedious after a while to keep set up from week to week.  SO…we ditched it.  LOL  We finished reading the material and then moved on to a physics kit that I found online for FREE!  (I love that word!)

This week the experiment was to set up two drinking birds, one with water and one with rubbing alcohol.  There are a few different situations you set up with the birds and see what happens.  The kids really enjoyed the experiments and when we were finished, we soaked both their heads, set them up and let them go.  One was still going when daddy got home from work.  It takes little to impress us sometimes.  😉

This doesn’t really have anything to do with anything, but I thought I’d throw it in.  No one can accuse me of not updating on me.  ha!  The kids and I had to make an unplanned trip by the doctor’s office today.  I’ve been summoned for jury duty and I had to have proof from my doctor that I am indeed a nursing mother.  I look forward to being able to serve in the future, I think it’s a great thing to do, but at this stage I don’t see how I can be available for three months with a nursing baby.  I’m still a little stunned that the summons is good for three months.  I know that it isn’t like you need to be there every day of those three months, but it’s like they go out of their way to make it inconvenient.  I can’t imagine how people in the work force handle it.  Granted, I’m not sure how I’d be available for three months with 6 kids, but that doesn’t matter…just the nursing baby counts.  🙂

Memory work for the week (big two) – John 15: 1-2  & (Sean) Acts 16:31.

Next week (big two) – John 15: 1-4 & (Sean) Colossians 3:20.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

