Skip to content

Aversion To History

January 11, 2011

Two years ago, I would have said “I have an aversion to history.”  I wouldn’t go so far as to say I hated it, but I have never liked history.  Remembering all those dates and names and places, well honestly, makes my brain hurt.  In junior high, I had one teacher who let me earn extra credit by cleaning the classroom and taking open book tests because otherwise I would have flat out failed his class.  (Sorry, mom, not sure I ever told you that.)  I like to think I’m smart enough and could have really applied myself to learn it, but well…why?  I didn’t see any point to it and no one else seemed to care if I was learning it or not.  Yeah, you get the idea.

So, here I am.  It’s 2011.  I’m 36 and home educating my children.  To make things more interesting, I’m using a literature based curriculum that is very strong in…can you guess?  Yup, history.

There seems to have been a lot of press that curriculum publishers are rewriting history.  There is a lot of concern for “me” that what I teach is accurate.  That means the good, the bad and the ugly.  They are kids and they don’t need some of the graphic details, but some of the stuff I have read is pretty scary.  I read one web page the other day that promotes their whole purpose as eradicating the Holocaust from history.  They say it simply didn’t happen and they want it illegal to teach otherwise.  I mean, really??  It seems so absurd, but there it is.

While it’s not as serious as erasing the Holocaust from existence, this whole recent debate over changing the text in “Huckleberry Finn” to make it more politically correct, is just as bad.  Removing words that were very much a part of that time and culture, especially when that was HUGE aspect of what the book was teaching, is just as wrong.  You are rewriting the facts of that time.

The more we dive into history, the more I’m amazed at how much I love it.  It’s so much fun seeing the kids learn.  I have no doubt that they know more than I do sometimes.  I’m glad to see that they don’t stress over learning lists of dates and places and names (although we do work on those) and I’m very tickled to get to be there when Sean tries to say Montezuma and says Mozzarella…every time.

I’m thankful to the wonderful world of literature and curriculum companies, in my case – SONLIGHT, who put it all together for me.  I am even looking forward to all the years of history that we have ahead of us.  I should be pretty well versed in another 18 or so years.  😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 7:37 pm

    Dropping by from Hip Homeschool Hop.

    I, too, am not a fan of history. I learned bare minimums of what I had to know to pass tests and left it at that.

    I heard about the whole changing of books to make them politically correct and I agree with you. I downloaded some of the classic books to my e-reader and am reading them again to familiarize myself with them again.

  2. January 11, 2011 9:00 pm

    i’m a former history hater too! now that we hit the road with the kids, we’re discovering it first hand and yep, now i love it! 🙂 stopping by from the homeschool hop!

  3. January 12, 2011 10:05 am

    Glad to hear you are enjoying history now [smile]. Thanks for sharing!

    ~Luke

  4. January 13, 2011 12:07 am

    As much as I dislike the language in Huckleberry Finn, I also don’t agree with changing the book!

Leave a Reply

