Skip to content

Thirty Days of Thankfulness

November 6, 2010

Day 6:

My parents!  My parents divorced when I was pretty young so I don’t remember what it was like having the two of them living in the same house and all the things that go along with that.  I do remember a good many times that they worked together as a team.

My mom, Norma.  She raised two kids, mostly on her own.  She worked, she drove us all over the place, ran us to football games and band practice and friends houses.  She insisted on good grades (thanks, because I’m lazy and could have easily not done well), she supported our extra activities (even though I know those didn’t fit well with her schedule sometimes).  She also taught us how to stand on our own two feet, to learn independently, and to take care of ourselves.  My mom taught me to follow my dreams, and even when she didn’t fully understand or like them, she encouraged me.  I’m still not so sure she liked the idea of me going off to Paris during my senior year of high school, but she helped me to work out the details and was proud of me when I made it.  Thank you, Mom.

My Dad, Eugene.  Dad may not have been in the home, but he was always there.  I can’t think of a time that I couldn’t call and talk to him if I wanted.  Sure, I would have loved to have seen him more, but I can look back now and know that he worked like he did to provide what he could and to take care of his family.  I have a couple of memories where he drove to see me in a performance (marching band) when I didn’t think he’d be there.  He couldn’t stay and it was a drive right back home to get to work, but it meant a lot to me that he would do that.   Mostly though, I remember him backing my mom up.  Even now, he gives her the credit that we turned out okay and any time we’d tell him thanks, his answer was “thank your mother, she’s the one that does all the work.”  I always admired that he never undermined her and always said she was right to us.  I don’t know if they argued or discussed things behind the scenes (I’m assuming they did on occasion), but when it came down to it, mom was the one raising us and he deferred to her decision.  It showed how much he respected her and I’ll always love him for that.

Lastly, I’ve got to say, I’m not just thankful for them as my parents.  Both of them are AMAZING grandparents.  Both of my step-parents too, are always checking on the kids and doting on them.  We truly are blessed!  The only thing I would wish to change is that we lived closer so the kids could spend time with them more.

♥♥♥ Thanks, Mom and Dad, for everything!  ♥♥♥

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

