Skip to content

Christmas List

October 5, 2010

When I was growing up, my mom would give my brother and me the Sears Big Book (or whatever it was called) and we’d spend days writing down our Christmas list.  Some years it didn’t take long.  Some years it did…and we’d write so much our hands would cramp.  My mom always liked having a list.  As a kid, it was easy to accommodate.

Sears no longer puts out a Big Book (boo!) so that makes it a tad harder for my kids to make a list.  Not SO difficult that they can’t do it though.  This week, I gave them the assignment of making out a Christmas list during their quiet time.  The results were surprising.

The oldest wrote out what he wanted, and what he has wanted for months.  No real surprise there.  The next one, oldest girl, wrote out a HUGE list…some of the things (ahem, skateboard??  We have no paved roads at our house) aren’t going to happen.   I think her final list was 24 items long and she reserved the right to change her mind and/or add things later.  Several of the items were things I had never even heard of…not-so-surprisingly her friends at co-op have them.

That brings us to the soon-to-be 6-year-old boy.  I can’t even put into words what his list did for me.  For starters, he wrote it out on a very tiny notebook.  Secondly, he continued words from one page to the next.  He had to explain several things to me.  One particular explanation sent me into a fit of laughter.  I scanned it and blurred out the things that were associated with other items.  Can you make out his request?

We’ve had a lot of fun with this one.  After all, I am his mother.  If I’m not allowed to give him kisses for Christmas, you can bet he’s going to get plenty between now and then.  😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mamaw & Papaw permalink
    October 5, 2010 10:27 am

    At least he agreed to let me give him one (just one) kiss. Love you Sean……………

  2. October 5, 2010 7:01 pm

    That is too cute! I am stopping by from the Hip Homeschool Hop!

  3. October 5, 2010 7:53 pm

    Oh Michele, That is just too funny.

  4. October 5, 2010 9:27 pm

    That is funny! I still actually have all those sorts of notes from my now-20- and 25-year-old children!

Leave a Reply

