Skip to content

Great Expectations

September 19, 2010

“Alright, you each have your gift card and you have your money.  We’re going to go inside and look around first.  Then daddy and I will go over your choices with you.”

I’ll be gracious and say it was ten minutes before Andrew and I were both ready to pull our hair out.  One kid refused to look at anything that even remotely fit into the amount of money available on him.  Another found the toys that were set out to keep kids busy while parents were shopping to be more interesting than looking for something to buy.  One kid found just about every possible selection we could say ‘no’ to in the first two minutes we were in the store and proceeded to spend the next eight pouting about it.

At the end of our summer reading program, the kids received gift cards to a large bookstore and we decided to head over earlier this week and let them redeem their cards.  Both of us had visions of them picking out a wonderful classic book to take home and love forever.  (Insert Bill Cosby voice “Riiiiiiiiiiight…”)

Sometimes, parents just need to be reminded that they were once kids too.

When I was a kid, I loved books.  I don’t think I would have gone to a bookstore, with money burning a hole in my pocket, and walked out with a classic to cherish forever.

Sometimes, parents need to remember that their children are just kids.

Our oldest is 9.  He finally enjoys reading, but he’s not a book freak.  The next one is almost 8.  She is a book freak, but she has other interests too.  It would be too easy to put her in this neat little box and keep it that way, but that’s not how it works.  Truth be told, I don’t really want to do that anyway.  There’s so much about them that I am enjoying watching as they grow and develop new interests and loves.  I’d hate to miss out on one minute of it.

While this adventure didn’t quite go as planned, I’m keeping my great expectations.  I can’t wait to see the things that they will live up to.

Next time they get gift cards though, I’m letting daddy take them…individually…on his own. 😉

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 2:42 pm

    Just stopping into visit you from the Hip Homeschool Hop! I enjoyed looking through your blog!

  2. September 21, 2010 4:20 pm

    I can picture my kids doing the same thing! Glad I am not alone.
    Stopping by from the Homeschool Hop.

  3. September 21, 2010 4:57 pm

    What a fun book club reward!

    Hopping by from the Hip Homeschool Hop to say “hi”! Have a great day!!

  4. September 21, 2010 7:41 pm

    Yeah, I used to cringe when my boys took their hard earned money and bought Captain U… It drove me crazy. Stopping by from the hop.

  5. October 26, 2010 10:52 am

    Oh man, I have to remind myself and my husband about this all the time. We have an only, and I think that makes it even harder because she acts so grown-up. Put her around a bunch of kids, and it’s like a completely different child! {She loves books too!} Great post!

    Stopping by from the Hip Homeschool Hop!

Leave a Reply

