Skip to content

Lesson Learned – A Link

August 29, 2010

My friend, Rachel, posted a really good blog post on Saturday and I wanted to share…in hopes that it will help anyone that uses the same internet site.

A Lesson Learned Regarding “Innocent Online Games”

Our kids don’t spend much time online at all, and this is one of the reasons why.  In my previous life (aka before we had kids), I worked for a school district in their technology office.  One of the aspects of my job, was to do basic internet searches and see how well the firewall and filter software was working.  I was told to put myself in the shoes of a school kid (yup, that was hard) and search for random things they would search for.  Most of the big-ticket items like “naked pictures” were easily booted back and I was told forget it.  However, there were so many “innocent” searches that turned back things to turn your stomach….yeah, I’m happy keeping the kids offline for now.

I do know that the internet has its good points and in time, the kids will learn lots of wonderful things from it.  For now though, I’m confident keeping them away from “innocent online games.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 3:14 am

    Amen. Such great advice for every parent!

    Thank you so much for joining the Hip Homeschool Hop today.

    Blessings,
    Sue
    The Homeschool Chick

Leave a Reply

