Skip to content

It’s that time again!

August 27, 2010


We love fall.
We love the somewhat cooler weather.
We love having lots of birthdays.
We love the changing leaves.
We love football season.
We love apple cider…

…and pumpkins…

…and holiday festivities.

We love it all, and in preparation for fall, we also love it when it’s time for the new curriculum to arrive!!  Our official “box day” was several weeks ago.  The FedEx truck pulled into the driveway and was greeted to the excited screams of little people.  *I* did not scream.  I’m much too mature for that.  I waited until they had left and then I screamed.

Unlike previous years, we waited to open the box.  Normally we dive in that very minute, but box day arrived on the same day as a meeting I was scheduled to attend…and then there’s that issue of a newly walking baby who loves to eat books.  SO…we waited.

NO MORE!!  Today the kids got the first look at their new school books and they are as excited as I am.

We are moving into Core 3 in Sonlight Curriculum.  This will be our first year of American History and we simply can’t wait!  Our first official day was going to be September 7th, after Labor Day.  The kids were so excited today that I agreed to move it to this coming Monday!  (I know that’s only a week, but I can’t tell you the joy of seeing them be so excited about school.)

Here are our history, geography, and reading books.  We adore stories in this house, and the lineup for this year is incredible!

All three of the big kids will be using Singapore Math this year.  I have been very impressed with the results after moving Christopher and Erin over, so I went ahead and moved Sean too.

All three will be using “A Reason for Handwriting” again this year.  That is another change I am very glad we made.  We had started with “Handwriting Without Tears” and it wasn’t a good fit for us.  I’m also going to use Mark Kistler’s “Draw Squad” for art.  I’m thinking about doing it with the kids and seeing how much I learn too.

We still have a few things to order for Spelling and Logic and we’ll be continuing in the Science we started in the spring.

Our “one home school room” will host a 4th grader, a 3rd grader, and a 1st grader this year.  Kelsie and Michaela will have busy years as well.  I love being a homeschool mom!  What a wonderful blessing it is to have educational freedom.

Happy Homeschooling!!


7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 9:23 pm

    Love, love, love it!

  2. Mamaw permalink
    August 30, 2010 9:27 am

    Looks like the kiddies are going to be busy (and so is Mom) and I know they are so excited…..It is so exciting to me to see them so excited about learning. HAPPY SCHOOL DAYS, CHRISTOPHER, ERIN, SEAN and you too, Kelsie & Michaela….Love you all

  3. August 30, 2010 12:25 pm

    Hope it’s a GREAT year for your crew!

  4. August 30, 2010 6:15 pm

    Happy Box Day! Thanks for alerting me to your blog. Don’t know how I hadn’t bumped into you before now [smile].

    ~Luke

  5. September 2, 2010 12:53 pm

    LOVE THESE pictures!!! Happy Homeschooling!!

  6. September 7, 2010 8:17 pm

    I am visiting your blog through the Hip Homeschool Hop — we are also using Sonlight Core 3 – we are about 1/2 way through and really love it! It is so comprehensive, and we have extended our study in certain areas, so it may take us a little longer than a year to get through, but that’s ok. I’m going to follow your blog to see what you’re up to!

  7. October 26, 2010 1:53 am

    Wow! It is so encouraging to see kids that excited about learning. Hope you have a great year!

Leave a Reply

