Skip to content

Back-to-School Traditions

August 17, 2010

Last week, for the Homeschool Hop, I asked if anyone had any fun ideas for things to do when you have downtime or take a break from school.  This week, in honor of back-t0-school, I’m asking about traditions.  It doesn’t have to just be for homeschooling moms either.  I know several people who have traditions for their public school kids too.  List them all!  It’s always fun to get ideas.

My friend, Mandy, starts her homeschool year off with an all chocolate breakfast.  (I want to be a kid in Mandy’s house!)

I have a friend in Illinois, Stephanie (no link…she doesn’t blog *gasp*), who goes into work late and takes all four of her kids to Denny’s for breakfast on the first day of school.  They all also receive that treat on their birthdays.  🙂

In our house, I have an “All About Me” page that I made up when our oldest started school.  On it they list their name, grade, favorite toy/food/subject, what they are looking forward to that year in school, and a few other things that are just for fun.  We also include their height and weight and on the back of the sheet, they draw a self-portrait.  It has been fun watching how their drawing skills (and their perception of what they look like) change from year to year.

I also do a small back-to-school bag that contains a few things like fun pencils, stickers, a note pad, etc.  I also try to have something pertaining to school as a treat for lunch that day.  Last year, I picked up some very adorable sugar cookies from the grocery store that were shaped like apples, school houses, and school buses.  The kids told me that I should have colored in the school buses with purple icing to make them look more like our van.  Maybe this year we’ll try having a chocolate breakfast!  Yum!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 8:15 am

    What wonderful ideas… we’re still deciding- as this is our first “official” year & we start next week… I’m excited to read others ideas!
    Blessings! (Found you through the bloghop)
    Jessica

  2. August 17, 2010 8:38 am

    Thanks for coming by my place on the hop! We always have a wrapped new pencil box loaded with supplies and some fun things like lipgloss and gum. With that we have chocolate chip pancakes. 🙂

  3. August 17, 2010 9:25 am

    Thanks for joining in Hip Homeschool Mom’s / Hop. I’m anxious to get to know you better! LOVE your blog and heart!

    Meghan
    http://www.thetuckerstaketennessee.com
    http://www.facebook.com/hiphomeschoolmoms

  4. August 19, 2010 5:39 pm

    Hooray for back to school traditions. I love your idea of an “All About Me” page!

  5. August 26, 2010 10:04 am

    I don’t have any traditions. Maybe I should start some? I just don’t know.

Leave a Reply

