Skip to content

Hip Homeschool Hop: Schedule or routine?

August 3, 2010

Photobucket

Today is Tuesday!  It’s time for the first Homeschool Hop post.  So, my question today is about your schedule.

I know lots of homeschool moms that have a set schedule.  They have their MOTH schedule down to a science.  I know lots that loosely use a routine…first breakfast, then school, then lunch, then more school.  They don’t like to look at the clock for much more than a reference.  Then there are those that are more of the “fly by the seat of their pants” type.  They don’t even own a clock and hearing moth means it’s time to break out the  fly swatter.

Me?  Well, I fall somewhere between all three.  We use Sonlight curriculum, so I have a wonderful guide to get me through the material.  Do I actually cover it in an organized manner?  Not always.  Sometimes we stick to it great.  Other times we take a rabbit trail and focus on something that interests us.  Sometimes we spend a whole day doing science.  It just depends on our mood.

So…which are you?  I’d love to hear your ideas.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 11:07 am

    We flip-flop; one week, we’ll be really scheduled (like last week) and the next, we’ll be more flexible. It usually depends on what all we have available or planned for the week’s out-of-the-house activities.
    I can’t commit full time to the spontaneous route – it’s not ‘me’, but I like being able to chuck the schedule and do fun stuff if mood or need dictates.
    ~h

  2. August 3, 2010 11:43 am

    We just flow with a routine right now. I have times in my mind when I want things to happen but no stress if we don’t hit it.

  3. August 3, 2010 11:49 am

    Hey! I’m coming over from Hip Homeschool Hop and wanted to say thanks for joining in and linking up with us today! Keep coming back on Tuesdays for more linkups and giveaways. We always have something going on at Facebook as well.

    Cannot wait to get to know you better!

    Meghan
    http://www.thetuckerstaketennessee.com
    http://www.facebook.com/hiphomeschoolmoms
    @hiphmschoolmoms (twitter)

  4. August 3, 2010 3:55 pm

    I’m here from the Hip Homeschool Hop, too.

    I guess we’re in the middle. I’d love to have a more set schedule, but it just doesn’t happen the way I plan. If I don’t have some schedule, though, we hardly get anything done!

  5. August 3, 2010 11:09 pm

    This is such a good question! I must admit that I’m a really-wants-to-be–on-a-schedule homeschooler, but alas… I find myself going down a rabbit hole more often than I should. Nonetheless, I wouldn’t trade our homeschool days for anything!

    I’m so glad that you joined the Hip Homeschool Hop today. 🙂

    Sue
    The Homeschool Chick

Leave a Reply

