Skip to content

Heaven on a Plate

August 3, 2010

I’m late in posting our dessert for the week.  It’s been chaos around here, but in a good way.  My friend, Lori, insisted I try these frosted brownies.  I have a big weakness for frosted brownies, so of course I agreed to do it.  Time didn’t allow for the kids to help me though, so pictures are limited.

Frosted Brownies:

Ingredients for brownies:

  • 1 c. plus 3 T butter
  • 3/4 c. baking cocoa
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 c. sugar
  • 1 – 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla (I used 2 – Ha!)

Melt butter and stir in cocoa.  Remove from heat and allow to cool.

In mixing bowl, beat eggs and sugar. Combine flour, baking powder and salt; gradually add egg mixture. Stir in vanilla and cooled chocolate mixture.  Mix well. (*NOTE* – I used my Kitchen Aide to mix this and found that I needed to hand mix some before putting it in the pan.  There was a bit at the bottom that wasn’t getting mixed in.)

Spread into greased 13 x 9 inch baking pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 24-28 min. or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack.

Ingredients for frosting:

  • 6 T butter, softened
  • 2 – 2/3 c. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 c. baking cocoa
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4-1/3 c. milk

In mixing bowl cream butter, sugar, cocoa and vanilla. Add enough milk until the frosting achieves spreading consistency.  Spread over brownies.

I had a hard time convincing the kids that this wasn’t a cake until they tried it.  OH YUM!  If you love brownies…these are definitely Heaven on a Plate!

She’s her mommy’s girl.  That’s a face that just radiates “I love chocolate.”  Notice Kelsie in the back, refusing to even look at me because that would mean taking her eyes off the chocolate.

I had the boys pose for this picture.  I was afraid that if I tried to get them taking a bite, it would be gone before the camera snapped.

I’d like another one, please.  Daddy?  Daddy?  Did you hear me?
I’d like another one please…Daddy??

YUM!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

