Skip to content

Summer Reading Program

July 22, 2010

Now that I have three readers in the house, we decided to have them spend part of their time doing the library’s “Make a Splash: READ!” summer reading program.  I told them what the ‘rules’ were and gave them the option of doing it or not.  We signed up the second week of June and they have until August 7th.  The goal is to read 50 books in that time.

The first week, I spent some time showing them what kind of books would be at their grade level.  I figured we’d have a few road bumps, when Christopher proceeded to check out some very large books.  (That lasted about a week. lol)  Since he’ll be in 4th grade this fall, he has to do chapter books.  Erin and Sean can do the Easy Readers.

With just over two weeks left to go, I decided to update.  Sean could have finished the first week if I had checked out 50 books for him.  As it is, he’s been getting between 10-15 books every week and has them read in two days.  Since we’re only going in once a week for new books, he then spends the rest of the week reading them all over…and over…and over again.  He’s hit his target.

Christopher and Erin are doing well.  They’ve both read some pretty big books.  Lots of Hardy Boys and Boxcar Children for Christopher — and Erin has been reading The American Girl books and a series about horses.  They’ve also checked out a ton of books that I read as a child…and some I have never heard of.  I’ve gotten in a fair dose of reading as well, screening books.  LOL


While Kelsie isn’t officially doing the program (after all she is 2 1/2), she gets credit for every book that we read to her.  Sean’s been following her around with a book in his hands, trying to get her to sit still and listen for days now.  He’s starting to get worried she won’t reach her 50.  😉

I made up a chart during our first week and every week, before we head to the library, we fill in boxes to show them how close to their goal they are.  As of last Friday, it looked like this.

Each bold line is 10 books and they get a prize at the library for that.  Notice Sean’s tally marks underneath?  LOL  He tried asking me last night if he could give his extra books to the other kids if they don’t reach their goal.  HA!  Nice idea, son, but that’s not exactly how it works.

Erin only had one book to add last week and I think it bothered her to see that she didn’t really move.  We’ll see how many she adds on Friday.  She’s been sneaking off to her room and reading a lot this week.

It’s an amazing thing seeing my kids love to read, and I love hearing their version of the stories that they have read!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mamaw permalink
    July 22, 2010 9:37 am

    Way to go kiddos…….You know Mamaw loves to read also…..although I don’t read as much as I used to……But when I do pick up a good book I read until I finish it……….Love you all. Keep up the good work……….

  2. July 23, 2010 8:35 am

    LOVE IT! I’ve been inspired to sign the kids up for our library reading program next year. In the meantime, I’m going to sign up for Book-It! for the school year! Woot! 🙂

    Anyway – way to go Ballard kiddos!

Leave a Reply

