Skip to content

Sunday Sweets: Apple Dumplings

July 18, 2010

I love days like today.  Peaceful, calm, good weather, family — it truly is refreshing.  Erin and I had talked a few times this week about what we were going to surprise the guys with for dessert today.  I thought we had it all ready to go.  After church she tells me “I’d rather paint.”  What?  What do you mean you’d rather paint??  Here I thought a 7-year-old girl didn’t know she was allowed to change her mind constantly.  (I’m kidding, I was 7 once, I know it’s in the rule book.)

So, I began looking through the cookbooks for something *I* wanted to make.  After going back and forth, and considering not bothering to do it at all this week, my boys asked if they could help.  “SURE!  What fun!”

Madness ensued.

I will go ahead and apologize for the massive quantities of pictures now.  There were just too many good ones for me to choose from – and as you will soon see…

my boys in the kitchen = chaos

Our dessert of choice?  APPLE DUMPLINGS!!  YUM!

We started out with Christopher getting the sauce made.

While his older brother was working on the sauce, Sean’s job was to help me measure the ingredients for the dough.  Isn’t he sweet??

It’s a good thing he’s cute.  I casually stepped a few feet away to take a quick picture…

“Sean?  What are you doing?  We were finished measuring the flour.”

“I’m just putting in more!”

(We ended up measuring and doing that step a grand total of 3 times.)

It was shortly after that picture when Sean excused himself to go watch the movie with his sisters, thus leaving Christopher and I to manage the dough for the dumplings on our own.  There are no pictures of that step, though.  I had to step in and do most of that step – because we wanted to eat dinner before midnight.

After the dough had been managed and cut out, Sean rejoined Christopher when he heard me say “okay, get the apples and the cinnamon/sugar mixture.”  Apparently, the apples I bought were not the “baking” apples that the recipe called for.  There was NO way we were going to get those little squares wrapped around them.  I ended up cutting the apples into fourths and each dumpling got 3/4 of the apple.   Here the boys covered the apples and we finally managed to get 6 dumplings in the pan.  The dough was cracking and breaking like you would not believe.  Next time I think I’ll just buy a few pie crusts and roll them out.  LOL  After this picture was taken…Sean again decided the movie was more interesting.

Christopher then poured the sauce over top of the dumplings.  I asked him to pose for this picture.  (To insert a “mommy moment” here:  When did my sweet boy start to look so grown up?!  I was looking through some pictures just a few days ago and thinking that he looked less like a little boy.  It’s even worse in this picture.  He’s so handsome!)  Okay, back to reality.  LOOK at his shirt!  Good thing I caught up on the laundry this weekend.  *rolls eyes*

Then he asked me to take one more, with a close up on the dumplings…and he does this.  His hand is blocking the ONE dumpling that we managed to get folded the way it was supposed to be.  The rest – HA! – well, you can see for yourself.

After we finished dinner, I set the Sweets on the table.  At this point the kids were a little giddy.  I think one of my favorite smells in the whole world is apple pie (or in this case dumpling) when it’s cooking.  Based on their reactions, I believe the kids shared the sentiment.

BUT WAIT!!  It wasn’t finished yet.  After I scooped everyone their dessert, I pulled out the finishing touch!!

*cues heavenly music*


Oh yeah, that’s what I’m talking about.

Andrew proceeded to read the label and point out all the things we’re making an effort to avoid.  I told him that was fine, he didn’t get any.  (yeah, right…)

Keeping with our Sunday Sweets tradition, the baker gets to enjoy the first bite.  Christopher was VERY excited.  I’ll admit, he inherited my sweet tooth.  Yeah, it is very safe to say he liked it.

Then it was time to get down to some serious eating…all that hard work made a couple of hungry boys. 😉

***

Now, that would have been a good place to stop this post.  However, as I said before, there were just too many pictures.  So, I’m going to toss in a few more here, because it’s my blog and I can.

Here’s the whole family.  See how angelic they are being.  It’s because this was before anyone got to eat and I told them I had to get a good picture first.  lol

Erin loved it too, and while this is a very cute picture of Erin, I’m posting it because of Kelsie.  She was a little distraught (understatement) that Andrew was making her wait for his help.  (And what is going on with Erin’s thumb??  Does anyone else notice that?)

Just to prove that we did let Kelsie eat and she was much better after that…

And there you have it!

Enjoy your Sunday Sweets from our Apple Dumpling Gang!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Deana Terrill permalink
    July 19, 2010 2:01 am

    Mich this is beautiful.. I throughly enjoyed this and seeing your family. ;o)
    (((((Hugs))))

  2. Teresa permalink
    July 19, 2010 5:37 am

    Way to bake Christopher! Those dumplings look soooo delicious! Love your pictures Michele : )

  3. Mamaw permalink
    July 19, 2010 10:45 am

    Hey looks like I am gonna have to come up to get me some dessert. Around here all we get is ice cream (and not home made either). Love all of you guys……Mamaw and Papaw

  4. July 19, 2010 11:17 am

    Oh my, my mouth is WATERING. Recipe please!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Pineapple Upside Down Cake « Mountaineer Heritage Academy

Leave a Reply

