Skip to content

Tortilla Pizza

July 12, 2010

My friend, Rachel, is a genius.  PURE genius.  The kids and I have been experimenting with homemade pizza dough the last few weeks.  I’ve done this before and we never find something we like.  It always tastes okay, but it’s never great.  Last week I bought a pre-made, whole wheat dough at the store.  It was good and I had planned to just buy it again at some point.  Then when I started to plan dinner for Saturday night, the kids wanted pizza again.  I wasn’t going to the store, so I started looking up different recipes for dough again.  (I still want to try this one, on my friend Jill’s blog.)

The down side was, I was running out of time.  Then I remembered Rachel.  We had a conversation back in May where she talked about making pizza out of tortillas.  Seemed easy enough…and hey, my kids have already proven they’re not SUPER picky about pizza.  LOL  So, we gave it a go.

The woman…is genius.  I may have to just keep extra tortillas on hand, just for this purpose.  I’m not even sure how many I ended up making.  I know they all ate at least two, but after a while they were making them faster than I could keep up.

Here you can see the one they made for me (with an M on it) and one of Sean’s (smiley face).  There were some with pepperoni initials…faces with cheese mustaches…and the list goes on.

Very good and so easy!  The kids did most of the work too.

Rach, just in cased you missed it…You are GENIUS!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 7:59 am

    the Italian in me is rebelling 😉

    • July 12, 2010 10:33 am

      Oh, I know and it was different, but hey…if the kids eat it. LOL

  2. Mamaw permalink
    July 12, 2010 11:12 am

    I can eat any kind of pizza so I guess the grandbabies take after Mamaw and they look really good to me…..YUMMY…………

  3. July 12, 2010 7:22 pm

    So – do the tortillas get crunchy? I recognize those tortillas (the bag) from Aldi. THAT makes a super cheap and easy pizza. GREAT idea!! I just went to ALDI today — too bad I didn’t read this blog before I left. LOL

    THANKS for sharing!!

    • July 13, 2010 1:33 pm

      They don’t get super crunchy like a chip, but yes. Of course, the ones we put a little more sauce and cheese on were less crispy. 🙂

  4. July 12, 2010 11:45 pm

    awww….shucks!!!

    • July 13, 2010 1:33 pm

      You’re GENIUS!!

  5. July 13, 2010 9:22 am

    What temp and for how long?

    • July 13, 2010 11:40 pm

      Oh…yeah, it might help if I had included that! Bake at 350 degrees for 8-9 minutes. The one we had that had a ton of toppings we did more like 12 minutes…making sure the cheese was good and melted!

  6. July 13, 2010 2:13 pm

    I don’t eat them but my kiddos have them for quick, hit lunches.

  7. July 13, 2010 2:14 pm

    hot

  8. Jill permalink
    July 14, 2010 7:32 pm

    Thank you for the idea.
    I made tortillas the other night and had a few left over. So, guess what I made for lunch today 😉

    Quick and easy!

Leave a Reply

