Skip to content

Half my life

June 30, 2010

“I am my beloved’s, and my beloved is mine”
~ Song of Solomon 6:3

In turning 36 last week, I reached an interesting point in my life.  I have now known Andrew for half of my life.  Wow.  I get goosebumps.  Half of my life.

Engagement picture

Fifteen years ago, I had just turned 21.  I was almost finished with my associates degree.  I had been on my own for a few years and I thought I knew a lot.  I never thought I knew everything, but I sure thought I knew a lot.  I was so wrong.  I did know one thing though, that I wanted to marry Andrew.  We had already decided that after WVU, he’d be heading to seminary.  I remember my dad asking me “what would you do if you don’t marry him?”  I simply replied “I’d go with him anyway.”

Fifteen years ago, I sat in a beauty salon with a fabulous group of women and laughed as we all got our hair done.  If you know me, you know the chances of that happening again are pretty slim.  I loved every moment of it that day though.  I do not like being the center of attention much at all…but I made an exception as we walked through the mall afterward.  With part of my veil already attached (with more hairspray than should be legal to use!) I was proud to let everyone know that today I was becoming Andrew’s wife.

Fifteen years ago, I amazed everyone with how calm I was…for the most part.  I was really trying desperately to not start sweating.  We got married on the hottest day of the year, in a church with no air conditioning.  I wanted to stay in my shorts as long as I possibly could.  I spent the day wondering what he was doing…did my brother (who had stayed at his place overnight) make sure he got something to eat?  or better still…to the church?  Was he nervous?

Fifteen years ago, I put on an amazing dress…had a few not so calm moments…and walked up a set of stairs to meet my dad.  I’ll never, in a million years forget that look.  It was one of those moments that not only etched itself into my memory but into my heart as well.

Fifteen years ago, I laughed as I walked down the aisle with my daddy whispering the whole way “You really don’t have to do this…we can turn back. I’ll cover for you.” I just squeezed his hand and told him to stop before I tripped (in my white cowboy boots) and fell.

Fifteen years ago, we stood in front of our family, our friends and our God and promised to love, cherish, honor…oops…we left out obey.  Good thing we figured that one out on our own later.  In reality, it’s not what the world has painted it to be and it’s just as beautiful as the marriage God gave us.

Fifteen years ago, we became Mr. and Mrs.  We set aside a small part of each of us, to allow for something better that united us as one.

Fifteen years ago, we had a wonderful celebration with family and friends…many of whom we haven’t seen in years – and some that have left this world. Time is short and tomorrow is never promised.

I am thankful for the 15 years.  Some of them were rough, most of them have been amazing, but they’ve all been worth it.   I’m grateful that even when I wanted to give up, Andrew didn’t give up on me.  I’m grateful that when he is weak, I can be strong.  I am grateful that he still chooses me.

Thank you for half my life, Andrew.  I look forward to ALL of the rest of it!  Happy Anniversary.

“If Thou Must Love Me”

If thou must love me, let it be for naught
Except for love’s sake only. Do not say
“I love her for her smile…her look…her way of speaking gently-
For a trick of thought
That falls in well with mine, and certes brought
A sense of pleasant ease on such a day.”
For these things in themselves, beloved, may be changed, or
changed for thee–and love so wrought may be unwrought so.
Neither love me for thine own dear pity’s wiping my cheeks dry-
A creature might forget to weep, who bore their comfort long,
and lose
their love thereby
But love me for love’s sake, that evermore thou mayst love on,
Through love’s eternity.

~ Elizabeth Barrett Browning

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 8:35 am

    Happy Anniversary!

  2. Mom permalink
    June 30, 2010 9:45 am

    HAPPY 15TH ANNIVERSARY TO MY BELOVED DAUGHTER AND SON-IN-LAW. MAY YOU HAVE MANY, MANY MORE TO SHARE TOGETHER. I LOVE YOU BOTH……..

  3. June 30, 2010 10:50 am

    Aw! Happy Anniversary Andrew and Michele!

  4. Jill permalink
    June 30, 2010 1:37 pm

    Happy Anniversary!

  5. June 30, 2010 3:04 pm

    Wow – just wanted to say congratulations on your anniversary! Your shared happiness and success is truly an inspiration 🙂

    May your marriage continue to be abundantly blessed in the years to come!

    ~Cheers with Wine!~

  6. June 30, 2010 8:35 pm

    Happy anniversary! 🙂

  7. Carmen permalink
    July 2, 2010 2:13 am

    So sweet!!! Happy Anniversary!!!

Leave a Reply

