Skip to content

Birthday Bliss

June 25, 2010

June is a busy month for birthdays in our family.  My brother’s birthday was earlier this month, several cousins, yesterday was my 36th birthday, and today my dad turned 63.  (36-63…makes it easy to remember our ages for at least this year!)

Happy Birthday, Daddy!

Yesterday, we had a ton of fun for my birthday.  I was overwhelmed by good wishes all day on Facebook.  Nothing like a little social networking to make a person feel important for a day!  After Andrew got off work, we headed out for Chinese food at our favorite place.  I LOVE bourbon chicken, but it’s normally one of the more expensive items on the menu…but it was my birthday  and as Andrew pointed out — “You only turn 36 (why do I keep typing 26?) once!”  I love that man.

Then…THEN…we took the whole gaggle of kids and headed up to the mall for some rootin’ tootin’…

…rip roarin’…

…buzzing fun!

We LOVED Toy Story 3!!  There were some scenes that the kids didn’t like, and a couple that I felt went on a little long (scary things in kid movies just shouldn’t last that long, in my opinion), but it was SO good and was true to the first two movies!  I had several fond memories of joining my sister-in-law and our nephew, Miles at the theater when Toy Story 2 came out.  He was SOOO little…and he’s almost 20 now.  woah.  It was neat to share it this time with my own kids.

I will say though, for all those big movie executives that read my blog.  30 MINUTES OF PREVIEWS??!?!  ARE YOU INSANE?!!?!?  I was having trouble keeping my attention span going…do you really think KIDS can do it?  I think not.

In addition to the great evening with my family (really…what else could I ask for!?) Andrew presented me with a sweet little box at the restaurant.

Oh…that got your attention, huh?

Earrings?

Necklace?

Bracelet?

Nope…

My man knows me well…

Chocolate!!!!  Not just any chocolate either…Ferrero Rocher.  Just don’t ask me how much is left.  It was a hard day today…okay?

Age and Laughter

Happy birthday, you’re not getting old,
Stay in the game, it’s not time to fold.
Wrinkles and grey hair, are just a new look,
Countless experiences, you should write in a book.

A birthday is seldom, a serious occasion,
Try not to take it, like the d-day invasion.
Laughter and jokes are within sight,
Stock up on both, all through the night.

www.special-birthday-poems.com
by Martin Dejnicki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2010 12:10 am

    Nick would tell you that you and your dad are the same this year. (That’s what he did the year he turned 15 and Jeff turned 51 — told everyone they were the same 1 – 5.) So, you’re the same this year 3 – 6. 🙂 Glad you had a good birthday!

  2. Jill permalink
    June 26, 2010 8:48 am

    Happy Birthday Blessings to you!!!

Leave a Reply

