Skip to content

So far, so good (or how does our garden grow?)

June 19, 2010

This is the first year that Andrew and I have attempted to grow a garden.  I’m going to take partial credit because I run off any critters that come around during the day, looking for lunch.  Otherwise, Andrew and the kids have done most of the work on getting things going.  Oh…and I am the official garden blogger, so that means I did more than just scare off the critters.  (btw…a cap gun works great as a scare device…just sayin’)

Here they are.  We are using the Square Foot Gardening method and once you get it all set up, it is fairly easy.  If you are interested, I suggest you get the book.  The website is a bit of a bear to navigate through.

The furthest box above is all corn.  There are two rows of red corn (never heard of it, but Christopher chose those) and then two rows of white sweet corn.  I took some pictures before we went through and trimmed each spot down to one plant, if I think of it I’ll find those and post.

Box 2 has:

Snap peas / spaghetti squash (takes up two squares) / snap peas

The two squares with things growing are green beans.  (I’ll have to ask Andrew which variety.)  There’s something down in the left corner…but I don’t remember what now.  I think it’s oregano or chives.

Here is box 3.  That tall plant is Sean’s sunflower.  He planted the seeds at co-op and it grew for a long time in my kitchen window.  Before we could get it planted, the thing went and SNAPPED.  I didn’t have the heart to throw it away, so I put it in a glass of water.  I wish I had taken a picture of it in the glass.  Everywhere that it was underwater had roots shooting out all over the place.  Andrew buried it all the way up to the bend and it just lay on the ground for the first few days…but look at that beauty now!  Those are onions in the first square, in the lower corner.  You can’t see them in this picture, but there are also some carrots in this box.

Box 4 has new cucumbers and Erin’s watermelon.  I think this box has chives in it as well, but you couldn’t see them that well.  There are still open places in the last two boxes so that we can add stuff and have it ready to eat at different times.

So…there are the current pictures.   The critters are starting to figure out what’s there and we’ve got tons of ants (not sure if those will be a problem or not),  hopefully with some diligence we can keep them away.

Andrew’s next step is to make a couple of trellises and decide if he wants to put up a fence or build a cover for them.

OH!  I almost forgot.  With all the planting and hoping things would grow, Sean took some seeds out of his apples one day after lunch.  Here’s what happened with those – our Red Delicious trees!

So far…so good!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 10:05 pm

    It looks so good!! Can’t wait to see how it grows. Keep us updated.

  2. June 21, 2010 6:23 am

    The SFG’s look great!

  3. Adrienne permalink
    June 27, 2010 5:03 am

    I’m going to do SFG at our house!

Trackbacks

  1. Garden update « Mountaineer Heritage Academy
  2. Garden Progress « Mountaineer Heritage Academy
  3. Garden Update: August 6th « Mountaineer Heritage Academy

Leave a Reply

