Skip to content

Like Mother – Like Daughter

June 17, 2010

When I was in sixth grade, our school took an annual sixth grade trip. We went to Pittsburgh, PA and visited the science center and Gettysburg, PA. I can’t remember if we went anywhere else. Those are the two places that I do remember though.  I remember a lot of things about Gettysburg, the science center…not so much.  I DO remember though, the demonstration about electricity. I remember being asked to come up front and place my hand on the Van de Graaff generator. I had very long hair and well…you know the rest.

On Tuesday we headed up to Carnegie Science Center for the day with some friends from co-op. It was a lot of fun and a welcome break from “normal” school.  (Thanks Erica, Jennifer, Melissa, & Shannon!)

Our first demonstration was “High Voltage”.  Yup, same demonstration as 25 years ago.  To be fair though, electricity hasn’t changed a whole lot in 25 years.   You flip a switch and it’s there.  Just to give Erin a little extra edge, I took her pony tail down right before things got started.  😉   She was chosen to come up and demonstrate the generator.  Woo hoo.

I tried to get a picture, but the room was fairly dark and even with a flash, this was the best I got.  I zoomed the picture in and then drew a line showing how far out her hair was on one side, but you get the idea.  The gentleman that was leading the demonstration jokingly asked her to come back for each show so he could use her again.

She LOVED it.  I wonder if that will be her only memory of the trip in 25 years?

More pictures to come soon…

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 3:25 pm

    LOVE it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

