Skip to content

Hello Dolly

June 13, 2010

Yum!  Yum!  Yum!  This week for our Sunday Sweet, we needed something that would travel.  The kids had been asking to go on a picnic for a while, so we decided to go after church this week.  The weather had been very hot and humid, so of course I had to find the ooey, gooiest recipe I could find.  Someone gave me this recipe when I was a freshman in college.  I will NOT tell you how long ago that was, but it was written on a recipe card…in ink.  (my son asked if it was black and white.  Amazing how he seems to think I lived in a time where there was no color.)

Erin wasn’t my only helper this week.  All four kids jumped in to help make these Hello Dolly Bars.  I need a different name.   I found a recipe that is similar called Magic Cookie Bars.  They’re very close to 7 layer bars, but not the same, but “chewy gooey mess bars” would fit them better.  🙂

***

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1-1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup (6 ounces) semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 3-1/2 ounce can (or 1-1/3 cups) flaked coconut
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped

Preparation:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Place butter in a 9 x 13 baking pan.

Turn around confused wondering where all your helpers have gone.

OH…there they are!

Watch butter melt butter in oven.  (They’re crazy, but I love ’em.  I tried to tell them watched butter never melts, but at 350 degrees…yeah…it always will.)  Remove pan from oven and carefully tilt pan to spread melted butter around.  Sprinkle graham cracker crumbs over melted butter.  Pour sweetened condensed milk over the crumbs.

Gently slap smaller hands out of the various goodies at are sitting out waiting for their turn.  Top with remaining ingredients.

Bake 25 minutes.  Cool.  Cut into bars.

I know you’re thinking I’m crazy for taking something like this out in muggy, crazy heat.  You’re right.  I am crazy.  I put them in sealed containers and then set them in the cooler on ice.  They were WONDERFUL!!!

I can’t wait to make them again and serve them warm with ice cream.  Oh boy…how many days away is Sunday???

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 5:20 pm

    I’ve got a similar recipe — it’s called 7-layer cookies (I think the layer you are missing is the butterscotch chip layer — guess any chip would do). Love them but Mom always said their were too expensive to make.

  2. June 16, 2010 12:30 pm

    Hi!
    Just wanted to let you know that I decided to change our blog home. Our original name was not available, so I had to go with this one.

    Oh, and those bars are so gooey and delicious. I love the picture of the kids looking into the oven … anticipation!!!

    Have a great day!

    Hugs~
    Jill (the big sister)

  3. October 17, 2013 1:34 pm

    Reblogged this on Mountaineer Heritage Academy and commented:

    I was looking through my stats today and this is the most searched for post on my blog. Since I’m having a hard time keeping my head above water with everything these days…I thought I’d share it again! Goodness how the kids can grow!

  4. MAry permalink
    October 17, 2013 2:23 pm

    Oh man I want to make this!! Thank God we don’t have any coconut. lol

  5. Mary permalink
    March 21, 2014 8:52 am

    I am making this tomorrow!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

