Skip to content

Sunday Sweets

June 6, 2010

This week for our Sunday Sweets, I needed to find something fast.  It was a combination of things…like forgetting it was Sunday…that led to my last-minute haste through the kitchen.  I scrounged through our well stocked kitchen and found lots of things, but they all required one ingredient that I didn’t have.  Time.

Yes, it was late.  Dinner was almost ready, I had MAYBE 40-45 minutes for the whole process…plus I really wanted cheese cake.  I knew I had no time in the world for cheese cake to set up, so I went in search of a quick cheese cake______  (yes, literally, fill in the blank).  I finally landed on a couple that I thought I could pull off, but I wasn’t sure.  (We have my 10 month old niece visiting with us for the week, and I’m loving it, but have 2 babies under a year old make it a little tough to cook very fancy dinners…let alone desserts.)

So…I didn’t get any pictures in process, but did manage to grab a few before we ate.

Cheesecake Dream Bars

(I’m not sure where I found this recipe now, so I can’t give credit where it is due.  I’m hoping to stumble across it again, but in my haste, I just printed and ran.)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used almonds)
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350° and grease and lightly flour a square 8-inch baking pan.
In medium bowl, mix brown sugar, flour, and nuts. Stir in melted butter until well combined. Reserve about 1/3 cup of the crumbs and press remaining gently into bottom of prepared pan. Bake at 350° for about 12 minutes.

Meanwhile, in another bowl, beat cream cheese and granulated sugar together until smooth. Beat in egg, milk, lemon juice, and vanilla.  Pour mixture over the baked crust; sprinkle reserved crumbs over the batter.  Bake at 350° for 25 minutes, or until set.  Cool on a wire rack.  Cut into small squares then cut each square in half diagonally.

Makes about 32 cheesecake dream bars if cut in 2-inch squares before cutting in half. (Note…HA!  Um….well…*blush*…I’m not going to figure up the calories on this one.  We cut in 2-inch squares and ate…there were no leftovers.  Everyone loved them and my oldest even asked me to put that recipe aside for his future wife!)

I do think they would be GREAT with some fruit on top, but again…no time for fancy…just dessert.  😉

Here is the finished product:


An individual square.  The edges were NICE, you could pick them up and eat them like a yummy cheesecake cookie!  Can you see the almond in the crust that wasn’t quite crumbled (not at all apparently)?  I told the kids that whoever found one of those got a kiss.  Yup, I can think very quick on my feet sometimes.  Ha!

Sorry for the glare, but I tried to get a picture of the layers before it was gone…about 2 minutes after I took this picture.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

