Skip to content

What if?

June 4, 2010

(From “What If” by  Nichole Nordeman)

{snip}

But what if you’re wrong
What if there’s more
What if there’s hope you never dreamed of hoping for
What if you jump
Just close your eyes
What if the arms that catch you, catch you by surprise
What if He’s more than enough
What if it’s love

What if you dig
Way down deeper than your simple-minded friends
What if you dig
What if you find
A thousand more unanswered questions down inside
That’s all you find

What if you pick apart the logic
And begin to poke the holes
What if the crown of thorns is no more than folklore that must be told
And retold

*Repeat

‘Cause you’ve been running as fast as you can
You’ve been looking for a place you can land
For so long
But what if you’re wrong

What if you jump
Just close your eyes
What if the arms that catch you, catch you by surprise
What if He’s more than enough
What if it’s love

What if it’s love

I’ve been going through some of my old blog posts and found this one posted almost three years ago.  Some things have changed since then (two more kids…that kind of thing), but the message is still so much of my heart.  I’m reprising it and adding any current info in red. 🙂

This is liable to be a rambling post, so I hope you can bear with me.  I was listening to the song above the other day and it struck me in such an odd way.  I know the song itself is about the general story of Jesus and those that choose to believe it and those that do not.  Great song…it makes you think.  Listening to it the other day with my beautiful children’s voices trying to over power it and the thought struck me “what if we’re wrong about other things too?”

There is a rather well-known family that just delivered their 17th baby.  (Said well-known family now has 19 children, a daughter-in-law, and a grandchild!) First, let me say WOW!  I’ve been through labor and delivery 4 (6) times and each time wondered what I was thinking and just how serious that apple was, but 19!?  WOW!  Secondly, this family (among other large families) has caught a lot of flack about their choices.  Personally, most of the parents I know that choose to have more than 2 or 3 get a lot of flack.  By 19, I imagine they’re so used to it and just don’t care, or it has MOSTLY stopped within their personal lives, or maybe a little bit of both.  It’s the choice to have a large family or not that is what this song reminded me of…

As a kid I used to think of life as a giant Monopoly game with God sitting at the board moving the pieces around.

“Shoe, you go directly to jail.  Do not pass go.  Do not collect $200.”

“Horse, HA!  You landed on Park Place again and this time I’ve got 4 hotels!”

“Dog, ah….dog.  Good luck trying to get around this board.  You’ve got $200 in your bank and if you hit even ONE of my rentals, you are sunk.”  (I was always the dog and the only thing I ever managed to buy was all four railroads.)

Sometimes, I still wonder what God thinks when he watches us make our decisions.  I know my own lack of discipline in SOOO many areas has to have Him scratching His head.  “Seriously, Michele.  {rolling eyes}  How many times do I have to tell you what you need to do?!?!  Can’t you just DO it?  You keep asking me for an instruction manual.  How many Bibles are currently in your house?  (As of last count?  a dozen, I believe  ) You have read it.  You have heard it.  In a lot of cases you even UNDERSTOOD it.  Now, what does it take for you to actually do it??”    Fortunately, the lectures that are delivered to me are so full of grace and love that I’m not left cowering in the corner when it’s over.  Unfortunately, I don’t always extend the same grace and love to my own loved ones.  I am working on that one though…

So what about with our decisions for family size?  Personally, it’s a decision every couple needs to make together and if they are both agreed and enter into it happily, I believe God takes care of things.  Obviously, the family mentioned above is feeding all of those kids or there’d be a riot in the media for state mandated birth control.  But what does God think?  Is He looking down at his Monopoly board saying “alright already!!  I know I said to be fruitful and multiply and all that about blessed is the man whose quiver is full, but seriously guys…I didn’t mean YOUR family had to repopulate the world!”  OR…does it play out more along the lines of “YES!!!  {doing the happy dance} THEY have it right!!!  SOMEBODY finally gets me!!!  WOO HOO!!!  WAY TO GO you two!!!”

I know some people have a hard time picturing God doing a happy dance, but I truly believe He rejoices and celebrates over every victory…so thus… happy dance.

NOW, to tie this rambling mess back into the song.  WHAT IF…?

But what if you’re wrong
What if there’s more

What if every Christian family decided to be open to however many children they could have?

What if you jump
Just close your eyes

What if every Christian family stopped worrying about how things were going to fall into place and just lived what the Word tells us to live?

What if the arms that catch you, catch you by surprise
What if He’s more than enough

What if we all just trusted in His promise of provision and accepted the blessings that He rewarded us with?

What if you dig
Way down deeper than your simple-minded friends
What if you dig
What if you find
A thousand more unanswered questions down inside
That’s all you find

What if we all stopped worrying about what other people thought and said and just did what our ‘ultimate instruction manual’ tells us to do?  What if we discover uncharted waters?  What if we wade through and trust that at every corner life is GOING to happen and that is the way it was supposed to be?

What if it’s love

What if it IS love?  What if we see a glimpse of the love that our Father has for us reflected in the love we have for our own children?  It IS love.  It is what we see.

Most parents, when looking to add a second child, wonder if they will be able to love another one as much as the first one.  The heart grows and each time we discover more love than we could have possibly imagined.  Can you imagine the love after baby #19???  What a feeling that must be?  What a glimpse into our Creators heart?!

(Yes, I know this is a seriously long post, but I told you I was going to ramble!  LOL) 

Now, having said all of that.  Mom, if you are reading this, I seriously hope I haven’t given you a heart attack.  Dad, no…I honestly don’t think we’re going to have 19 kids (well…or 17 for that matter).  Andrew, my sweet and love of my life, I am NOT getting  any younger and while YOU know I love babies, that is a big number. 

However, what an army for the Lord it would be if Christian parents were open to having as many children as God blessed them with!   What a HAPPY DANCE there would be in heaven as the angels rejoiced and God celebrated that His people FINALLY got it…even if it was just a small piece of the puzzle.  What an amazing testimony it would be to the rest of the world when all those families were rewarded, not in earthly riches necessarily–but in heavenly rewards–for their obedience.

What a day of rejoicing it would be!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 10:11 am

    A. Men.

Leave a Reply

