Skip to content

But Mommy…

June 3, 2010

“I love to read!”

I can’t tell you how those words make my heart sing.  Hearing them from any of my kids just makes me smile, but yesterday I was blessed to hear them from Christopher.  Reading did not come naturally to him.  I can still remember going through those first readers…

“The fat cat sat on Pat the Rat.”

…it would take 10 minutes to read that sentence and it was a good day if he didn’t cry through it.  His first grade test score in reading didn’t even exist.  He got to the reading section of the test and slammed shut like a clam trying to protect its pearl.  Oh, it pained me that he just didn’t love reading.

When we started second grade, something clicked.  He was reading a little better, but the read-alouds for that year grabbed him and he took off.  (Thank you, Sonlight!)  He still struggled, and at times I’m sure he did not like it, but at least the crying was slowing down.

As we started his third grade year, he was slowly continuing to improve and even ventured into some rather difficult books during his free reading time.  Then it was my turn to struggle.  He asked to read The Hobbit and I was certain he’d never understand it.  I was gladly wrong.  Some of it did go over his head, but he continued to plug away at it and he enjoyed it.

He’s currently enjoying The Hardy Boys mysteries and when I commented to Andrew how much Christopher had read yesterday, the boy chimed in with “But Mommy, I love to read!”

My heart did back flips!   ♥

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 6:03 am

    What a blessing to read today! Great job, Christopher!!!!

  2. Mamaw permalink
    June 3, 2010 6:37 pm

    Maybe Christopher takes after Mamaw, who loves to read……I’m so proud of you Christopher……AND I love you…….

Leave a Reply

