Skip to content

I want the devil to know me

May 17, 2010

Sunday morning, we were running late.  I won’t go into all the details, but basically, if we had made the drive to church it would have meant walking in closer to the end of the service, than the beginning.  I don’t like that.  I don’t like being late at all…so we visited a church that is much closer to home for us.  It was a wonderful experience.  The church was gearing up for a revival this week (oh, how I miss revivals) and had a visiting pastor.  I knew it was going to be good when he turned down the microphone when it was offered.  That was confirmed when the kids leaned over and whispered “why is he yelling?”  😉

Rev. C said something that really struck a chord with me and I’ve been thinking about it since.  He said that he wants the devil to know his name.

Now, that alone sounds a little iffy, but in context it was very moving for me and it forced me to do a little soul-searching.  It brought to mind one time when I was in a conversation about meeting an author that I really love.  Some friends were bidding on a dinner with the author and the whole premise was a bit mortifying to me.  I even remember saying “I think I’d rather he never know I existed than remember me as the dolt that dumped coffee in his lap over dinner.”

I like being low-key.  I like being below the radar.  I like just getting by unnoticed.  So, saying I want the devil to know my name is a little more than I can grasp.  However, the more I think about it, the more I think he is right.

I do want the devil to know me.

I want the devil to be afraid when he sees me coming.

I want the devil to know there is a fight on his hands when he fights with me, because the Almighty God in Heaven is on my side.

I want to be able to stand as Lucy did at the Bridge at Beruna, knowing that my little dagger is nothing in my own hands…but everything in the hands of God.

When it comes to the Kingdom of God, I don’t want to be low-key.  I don’t want to hang out below the radar.  I don’t want to be unnoticed.

It’s time to stand up and stand boldly for the cause of Christ.

What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? ~ Romans 8:31 (NIV)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 5:14 pm

    AMEN!

  2. Mary permalink
    May 17, 2010 6:16 pm

    Preach it Sister!

  3. May 17, 2010 6:47 pm

    You want the Devil to not only know your name but tremble when he hears you’re up and about. Praying that we all can raise our children with this same mentality.

  4. Jill Damm permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:36 pm

    Just curious, where did you all visit?

    • Michele permalink*
      May 17, 2010 11:52 pm

      I sent you an email, Jill. 🙂

  5. Jo Ann permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:45 pm

    You are SOOOOOO right. You have given me much to think about.

  6. nchomeschoolmom permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:55 pm

    I saw a quote recently that went something like, “When I wake in the morning, the devil says, “Crap! She’s up!”

    • Michele permalink*
      May 17, 2010 11:58 pm

      Yes! That’s what I want. I don’t want him sitting around trying to figure out new ways to discourage me…I want him shaking in his boots and worrying about what I’M going to come up with to ruin his day!

  7. May 18, 2010 12:19 am

    Love it!

  8. May 18, 2010 8:28 am

    excellent!

Leave a Reply

