Skip to content

Count down

May 2, 2010

It’s hard to believe that 9 years ago, I was sitting in my midwife’s office getting the run down on how to deliver a large baby.  An ultrasound earlier that week had put our first baby at weighing over 10 lbs and she had immediately gone to schedule the c-section.  I can still remember the feeling in my gut when she started talking about it.

“I’d really rather try to labor and have him naturally.”

Yeah…first baby and all…I get that, but it was the right decision.

So, there we were, sitting and listening to her describe all the things that could go wrong with delivering a large baby.  Don’t get me wrong, she wasn’t trying to freak us out.  Honestly, it was the best thing she could have done for us.  I will admit though that I freaked out a little bit when she pulled out a model of a pelvis and a tiny doll and showed us how they solved the problem, should said large baby get “stuck”.

Woah.

I remember asking her about inducing and being very impressed with her response.  Yes, I asked to be induced.  Think about it for a minute, if he’s ALREADY around 10 lbs, it just made sense to me that we get things moving and let him out before he could gain anymore.  Perfectly logical argument, right?

Apparently not.

Barb took out a study and showed us where inducing labor in cases of large babies *usually* resulted in a c-section anyway.  Then she told me that large babies just require a different kind of labor than average size babies.

“What does that mean?”

HA!

I found out…but I’ll leave that for another time.

We left her office feeling confident that, even in the event of complications, we were in good hands and would be holding our new baby boy soon.  This Friday he’ll turn 9 years old.  He’s already counting down the days…just like I was doing nine years ago.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 8:31 pm

    Awwwww, happy birthday to him!!!!!

  2. May 3, 2010 9:17 am

    Happy Happy (and thanks for no mentions of bagels and such)

  3. May 4, 2010 12:58 pm

    9 years old. Wow. He was so huge!! By the way, Hannah, was “only” 8 lbs 14 ozs but she was short if I remember correctly. Very chubby face at birth!

    How do you like using WordPress? 🙂

Leave a Reply

