Skip to content

The Book Shelf

April 30, 2010

I’m still trying to figure out if I want to do any specific “theme” days now that I’m (trying) to blog on a regular basis.  One thing I really want to do is keep up with what we are all reading.  Maybe some of our reviews will give you some ideas on things to (or not) read.  So…the current list:

Our current read-aloud is The Cricket in Times Square. The kids are all very impressed with the idea of a country cricket trying to navigate the city and are excited to see how Harry Cat and Tucker Mouse live together as best friends.

Christopher is reading Shadows and Secrets, written by my good friend, Chautona Havig.  He loves the medieval time period, so I was anxious to see what he thought.  He had started reading it a few weeks ago and got side tracked with his latest Hardy Boys mystery and when he picked this one back up…he couldn’t remember where he left off.  So, to save himself the frustration he started over again.  I asked him today how it was going and his response, “What’s not to like about a book with a dragon?”  I love that boy.

I am also reading a Chautona Havig novel.  Her latest is Ready or Not and I love it.  I’ve enjoyed being able to help do some editing here and there as Chautona needed it, but it just isn’t the same as holding a bound book in my hands and being able to curl up and read it at night when the house is quiet.  Ready or Not is about a young woman, Aggie, who finds herself just out of college and the instant “mother” to her eight nieces and nephews.  Aggie’s character is SO real that it’s hard to not think she’s me sometimes…and she gives me hope that I’ll be able to recover when I make my own silly parenting mistakes.

Andrew is reading Biblical Courtship: Her Hand in Marriage, by Douglas Wilson.  For the last couple of months, he has been enjoying reading this book with his homeschool dads group and learning about biblical courtship.  In this book, Wilson discusses the father’s role of guiding daughters, and their entire family, through courtship.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 3:20 am

    Well, now that just thrills my soul. Not only do you have two of my books mentioned, but two of my favorites as well. How much better can it get?

Trackbacks

  1. Chautona » Blog Archive » Feelin’ the Love

Leave a Reply

