Skip to content

Productive day!

August 15, 2009

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}
table.MsoTableGrid
{mso-style-name:”Table Grid”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
border:solid windowtext 1.0pt;
mso-border-alt:solid windowtext .5pt;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-border-insideh:.5pt solid windowtext;
mso-border-insidev:.5pt solid windowtext;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

Saturday, August 15, 2009

I absolutely stink at many aspects of being a housewife.  Some things I do better than others, but some of them…not so much.  Menu planning is one of the many burrs in my saddle.  A couple of months ago, my husband ran across this really great site.  It’s called e-Mealz.  The folks at e-Mealz do all the work for you.  They even go through the ad each week (depending on which plan you sign up for) and see what is on sale, and write out some very cool meals for you.  In some ways this is a good thing.  I can see where this would work for a lot of people.  Shoot, even Dave Ramsey endorses it…can’t beat that.  It didn’t work for me.  I wanted it to.  My husband wanted it to, so I tried even harder.  The truth is, I just can’t grocery shop once a week.  It’s overwhelming for me.  I do much better with one big shopping trip each pay check and then if we need something here or there, my husband can pick it up on his way home.

Here’s the kicker though.  I never plan two weeks worth of food.  I just go and shop and bring it home and hope I can stretch it that far.  Sometimes I do.  Sometimes I don’t and we have to scramble to make up for it.  This time I was determined.  So, since we were pretty much on depleted stock over everything, last night I sat down and planned out breakfast, lunch AND dinner for the next 17 days.  Yes, I know…overwhelming is an UNDERstatement.  However, despite my challenge of getting to bed before midnight, I stayed up until it was complete.   When I went to bed last night I had a beautiful set of pages with the menus all written out and one MASSIVE grocery list.

HA!

Well, what do you do with a massive grocery list?  Sigh..that means you have to go to the grocery store.  There’s always that, huh?  Well, that would be easy enough, but I refused to just let it be enough.  To buy all the things I had on my list, it would mean at least 2 grocery stores…if not 3…which ended up being 4 and a CVS store.  I left the house at about 8:30 this morning and arrived home just before noon.  Then the troops descended on the van and helped me carry it all in the house (YES!  I LOVE my troops!) and get it put away.  A fun time was had by all.  Okay, not really, but I can dream, can’t I?

So, until the end of the month, we should not need to go to the grocery store for ANYTHING.  Maybe a gallon of milk or two, but other than that, we’re set.  It’s a good thing.  A very very good thing.

And just to prove (to myself…I’m sure I’ll doubt I ever did such a thing in two weeks’ time…) it.  Here are the menus!  I have no idea why the images are different sizes…but that’s okay, they printed just fine for the fridge. 


One Comment leave one →
  1. kimbercup permalink
    August 17, 2009 1:22 pm

    WOW! I'm proud of you.
    Menu planning is my burr in the saddle, also.
    But now that we are back to Full-Time Homeschool, I am determined to do it.
    I am praying that the Lord help me to stay organized and on top of things.

    Glad you're doing well.

    Jill (the big sister)

Leave a Reply

