Skip to content

Weird Wednesday

July 29, 2009

Weird.  Weird.  Something I’ll never understand…yes, there are about 4 million and 1 things that I’ll never understand but this is a big one.  WHY do people pat a pregnant woman’s tummy??  I mean, seriously, when is it acceptable to walk up and start petting people??  It’s gross.  It’s annoying.  It’s an invasion of personal space. 

Yes, I realize that some of us *ahem* get rather large tummies with our rather large babies.  It must be somewhat hard to resist if you like to rub a pregnant tummy…but really.  The LEAST you can do is ask…and if the answer is no…please don’t do it anyway.  PLEASE.

Some women enjoy this.  Some women don’t.  Some women are utterly grossed out by it and would really appreciate it if you never do it. 

Okay, my rambling is over…

Just a little soapbox issue of mine…

I’ll get over it…

Honest…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. gilsanla permalink
    July 29, 2009 10:45 am

    I had to laugh – it is true when you think about it is just plain weird šŸ™‚ You wouldn't touch someone who wasn't pregnant. I think you're right it's something we will never understand.
    Sandy

  2. Anonymous permalink
    July 29, 2009 2:09 pm

    rock on momma!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 29, 2009 4:06 pm

    of course you wouldn't run a non-pregnant belly. the pregnancy is what is awe-inspiring. people are drawn to the phenomenon of pregnancy. it's special. they want to be connected to that. of course they are dismissing your personal space, and maybe that IS wrong, but have a little forgiveness for people that can't help themselves or forget for a moment. it's never *meant* as an insult, it's just respect for a beautiful process, even when in error.

  4. Chautona permalink
    July 29, 2009 4:18 pm

    The same could be said of many things that are beautiful and wondrous, but we'd never (I hope) be so free with. Take the intimacy in marriage. It's amazing and wonderful. But you wouldn't grab a couple's hands and beg to watch for a bit.

    No, they aren't apples to apples, but both things (touching people… particularly strangers or people who already asked you not to and watching intimate moments) are both very personal things to a lot of people and expecting to feel free to interject yourself into their space is inconsiderate at best.

  5. JustaSEC permalink
    July 29, 2009 4:23 pm

    AMEN, Chautona!!

    And…I might add, that I am usually gracious if it's a friend that wants to feel the baby kick or something like that. It's total strangers that absolutely wig me out. I don't get it…why is it that the person being imposed upon is supposed to show grace and 'forgiveness', however the person who can't seem to exhibit any self-control is allowed to impose??? Honestly, I expect more from my children.Edited by JustaSEC on Wednesday, July 29, 2009 at 04:24

  6. Tawna permalink
    July 30, 2009 4:19 am

    If I ever meet you when you're pregnant, I promise to not touch your stomach. šŸ˜‰

  7. joni permalink
    August 4, 2009 6:53 pm

    Maybe its good we don't live near each other. I love pregnant bellies. I'm usually very polite though but if you don't mind, watch out! LOL.
    Hope you're feeling well. You're in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

