Skip to content

The Mommy Wars

October 27, 2008

No, I don’t mean the Good Mommy versus Bad Mommy debates that you can find on Dr. Phil and Oprah.  I mean the growing debate among my three oldest children.

Christopher is now 7 1/2 years old.  Sometime after  7, it becomes clear that calling your parents "mommy" or "daddy" is uncool.  For homeschooling kids, you can maybe put off the urge to shorten their title until about 7 1/2.  But, should you be a boy, and join Cub Scouts, forget it.  That extra syllable is just too much.  Of course, after watching "mom" pout over her new name, it’s okay to decide "I’ll call you Mommy at home, but at scouts you are MOM." 

Agreed.

Now, throw a couple more kids who MUST do what their older brother does and the Mommy wars have started.  For now, the votes are tied…but it could sway at any moment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. gokings13 permalink
    October 28, 2008 10:48 am

    I have a 17 year old boy who:
    Still says "I love you" when I or he walks out of a room.
    Regardless if his entire hockey team is standing near him.

    Still lets me hug, and kiss him on the head, in front of anyone. Adults, peers, hockey team mates, co workers.
    Doesn't matter.

    From the time they were babies to this day, I have always instilled in them that family was number one (after the Lord, and it is God who instituted the family) and it doesn't matter WHAT anyone else thought…….I have parents all the time tell me how 'lucky I am' that my kids are so affectionate.
    It has nothing to do with lucky, and everything to do with careful training and teaching!

    laura

  2. JustaSEC permalink
    October 28, 2008 10:52 am

    I agree with you Laura. And…as of now at least…they are all very affectionate and never hesitate to give hugs and say I love you etc. It's just the mommy versus mom thing. I'm okay with mom…when the youngest is 18! HA!

  3. gokings13 permalink
    October 28, 2008 11:00 am

    DUH: I forgot to say, I am "mom or ma ma".
    Depends on the way the wind is blowing……hahahha
    But he (and the 18 and 14 year old) will call me mom, ma ma no matter who's around!'
    The kids (especially the 18 and 17 year olds) are very very comfortable in their own skin!
    Laura

Leave a Reply

