Skip to content

Misc stuff

October 2, 2008

Wow.  As much as I’m on the computer you’d think I’d update more here.  Time has a way of getting away from me these days.  I’m not sticking to my schedule and it shows!

Misc rambling #1:  Update on me
.  A couple people have sent a few messages asking about my weight loss.  It’s going well.  As I sit here reading Tereza’s blog about coconut covered chocolate cakes (yum!), I am down 92 lbs from when Kelsie was born.  I’m hoping to reach 100 lbs GONE by the time her first birthday rolls around next month.  I just need to get back on track with my exercising and paying attention to what I’m eating more.  I get relaxed and will go a few weeks ignoring it and then I’m surprised when the scale doesn’t go down.  I need a big sign that says "DUH!" to hang in my bathroom. 

Misc rambling #2:  School.  It’s going well.  We’ve slowed down some and it’s mostly my fault.  I have a very pretty schedule and I like to ignore it a lot.  We’re still getting things done, just not as much each day as I want to.  I’m praying for discipline (for me) in this area and I know the kids will follow along when that happens.  Christopher’s reading is progressing in leaps and bounds.  I’d like to convince myself that eventually he’ll love to read like his momma, but I’ll settle for the ability.  Erin, on the other hand, is a sponge.  She’s progressing through 1st grade language arts and reading like it’s nobody’s business.  I’ve caught her a few times helping Christopher figure out a word too.  She’s going to pass him up…soon.  Sean’s working on his blends and has mastered /ck/ – /sh/ – /ow/ – /ee/ – /nd/ and a few others I can’t think of right now.  He wants to do math now too.  So I have to find something fun for him that keeps him interested.  He can spell his name now when you ask and is started to write his letters, but that’s a long road yet. 

Misc rambling #3:  Birthdays.  Oh boy.  This is the time of year when fun abounds!  Erin has a birthday this month (along with her Nannie and Mamaw) and she’ll be having her horse themed party in a couple of weeks.  Kelsie and Sean have birthdays coming up too.  Kelsie is just before Thanksgiving and Sean is just after, so we’re going to combine them for a party this year.  Sean’s wanting an Elmo party and Kelsie could care less, so she’s getting Sesame Street too.  We usually do a smaller party in the fall than we do in the early summer for Christopher, but I think I’m going to try and do up Erin’s party a little this year too.  Not a lot of people, but LOTS of fun! 

Misc rambling #4:  Andrew.
  I tell you what.  I am so blessed.  Andrew is one of the most hard working dedicated men I can imagine.  He pours himself into work and then comes home and pours into me and the kids until he collapses into bed every night.  There are lots of things in my life I may not have done right, but convincing that man he needed me was the best move I ever made.  Fortunately for me, he agreed with me!  Funny thing is, I was sneaky…the truth is I need him more than he’ll ever know. 

Misc rambling #5:  Outside activities. 
Here I thought I’d have this spare time on my hands by not participating in the MOPS steering team this year.  Boy was I wrong.  Christopher has joined cub scouts and is really enjoying it.  Last week his pack spent their meeting picking up trash along the rail/trail and you know what he said to me when he got home…"Mom, I never thought trash could be fun."  Really?  Figure out how to make it fun at home, because we’ve certainly got enough of it.  And don’t tell me I have to invite your cub scout pack here to clean it up.  There’s only so much embarassment a mom is willing to take.  He’s been selling BoyScout popcorn as well and I’m rather impressed with him.  I hated fundraisers when I was a kid.  My ability to sell things consisted of sending the form with my mom to work and MAYBE asking my dad to buy something.  There were plenty of times that I didn’t even bother with that.  He seems to like it though, so I’ll give him that.   Last week, he was even in the local Buckwheat Festival parade.  I’ll try to get some pictures up of that soon!  He had a blast!  And, it didn’t hurt his momma’s heart ONE BIT that as he passed us in the parade he was blowing kisses to his mom.  Nope.  Didn’t even get one tear…nope…sure didn’t. 

Misc rambling #6:  Garden. 
I don’t know if I’ll be able to make anything of it or not, but I’m planning a small garden for next year.  Our land if really a lot of rock, so I’m going to try and do one small raised bed garden and see what happens.  This is going to be a LONG learning process I’m sure.  I’m not a person with a green thumb at all, and I tend to kill things that are supposed to be green.  SO…my goal is to try.  I can do that, right?  Of course, the deer and rabbits and squirrels and foxes and any other animal I can think of will be trying as well.  Adding a fence to my list of supplies….

Misc rambling #7:  Prayers.  For those of you that don’t mind joining me in prayer.  I have two ladies that could really use it right now.  Teresa and Julie are both heavy on my heart today.  Teresa and I have been friends for 8 years now and I’ve never even met her face to face.  I love her like a sister and she’s going through a really rough time.  Prayers for her health and recovery from surgery are much appreciated.  Julie is a local friend and a pastor’s wife.  She and her husband are having a baby and they could use some prayers as well.  Thank you prayer friends.  I appreciate it.

Okay, I think that’s enough rambling for now.  I need to get a grocery list finished and get a shower while the babies are down and I can.  Hope everyone is having a blessed day!

~Michele

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mamato8 permalink
    October 2, 2008 2:36 pm

    Thanks for the link:) I bake all that stuff for my family and try to loose weight:):):) HA Ha…..that's a hard combination!
    This misc rambling is a good idea:) One gets to know a person that way!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    October 2, 2008 3:38 pm

    92 pounds? Wow. What a encouragement for others of us that haven't made the decision to lose.

    Michelle about the garden. … Go to the library and get the book, "Square Foot Gardening".

    Jo Ann in FL

  3. Jessie @ Muthering Heights permalink
    October 3, 2008 8:10 pm

    Great job on the weight loss! Losing that much isn't easy – trust me, I know!

Leave a Reply

