Skip to content

Potty Training update

August 15, 2008

Sean will be 4 on December 1st.  I think he’s probably pretty normal for a 4 year old.  He just doesn’t seem so grown up to me as the other two did at that age.  Anyway, we’re finally having success potty training.  All week, he’s been in underwear except at nap and bedtime.  There have been a few accidents, but he’s getting there.

With the other kids, we did M&Ms with a lot of success.  Sean, not so much.  We finally found the secret.  Dog biscuits.  I know.  You’re all going


and

…but it’s not REAL dog biscuits.  They’re Scooby Doo graham crackers in the shape of dog biscuits. 

My mom used to have a little Yorkie that got a treat every time she went outside to do her business.  Sean apparently remembers.  So, our current routine is, he goes potty and comes running out and stands at the kitchen and waits.  Someone (usually one of the kids because I’m laughing too hard) says "SIT!" and he plops to the floor.  Then they chime "SPEAK!" and he barks.  Then he receives his treat for going potty. 

I know.  I know.  It’s horrible.  I’ve tried to get him to stop.  He’s devastated if we don’t do it.  And..it’s getting him to go potty…so I don’t really want to NOT do it.  It won’t last forever.  He’ll be potty trained and forget all about it like the others forgot about the M&Ms. 

But I just know…at some point…

We’re going to be in public…

And he’s going to try and insist on "sitting & speaking" for his treat when he goes potty. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jenn permalink
    August 15, 2008 9:04 pm

    ok i need a video of this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 15, 2008 11:12 pm

    I. can't. catch. my. breath.

    Melissa

  3. gabbie427 permalink
    August 15, 2008 11:44 pm

    OMG!!!!!! I am about to fall off my chair laughing over here. I am just thinking, wait until he gets older and you are able to tell him this story of his potty training days! LOL

    I had a friend, who while potty training her daughter used to sing, "it's my potty and I'll pee if I want to!!" LOL And another friend who put cherrios in the potty for her little boy to try to dunk while aiming into the potty! LOL But this one dear, definately takes the cake, dog biscuits and all!! (Do you actually call them scooby snacks??? Pee for mommy and you can have a scooby snack!! RUFF RUFF! LOL)

    Thanks for sharing the laugh with us. How adorbaly sweet!

    God's Blessings,
    Amy Jo

  4. Anonymous permalink
    August 16, 2008 3:40 am

    Hey, whatever you have to do….LOL!

  5. JustaSEC permalink
    August 16, 2008 3:20 pm

    Well, we go between calling them Scooby Snacks and a Tummy Yummy. Anyone know where that's from??

    ~Michele

  6. Tawna permalink
    August 16, 2008 6:44 pm

    CLIFFORD!!!!!!!!! I knew it I knew it! Hey – can I have a dog biscuit? HA HA HA HA!

    http://thejacobsfamilyhomeschool.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

