Skip to content

Summer is almost over!

August 9, 2008

The good news is, I have all my curriculum and it’s almost completely organized and ready to go!  The other good news is, we’ll be inside more and I can spend some time blogging!  (Yes, good news is in the eye of the beholder.) 

I can’t tell you how many things I’ve thought "hmm, I should blog about that" but we’ve been outside doing something and by the time we got inside and crocs put away and baths and teeth brushed and PJs on and well, you get the idea.  I forgot all about it.  There are a few things of note today though.

I AM SO STINKING PROUD OF CHRISTOPHER!!!  He rode a bike today without training wheels!  He really did well, but he’s a little discouraged that he still falls.  I think he would have been perfectly happy using training wheels until he’s 50.  The bolt that holds his seat on his bike though is broke and needs replaced.  He asked about it again today (he always asks when we’re home and not when we’re at Lowe’s or something where we can actually get the bolt) and I told him to go ride Erin’s big bike.  He pouted.  So, it’s a purple girls bike.  We live in the middle of nowhere and no one is going to see you.  He pouted some more.  Okay, suit yourself. 

"It’s not that.  The chain on her bike is off and well…it doesn’t….nevermind." 

"What?"

"Her bike doesn’t have training wheels."

He just told me that I have to tell you that it’s NOT because she can ride a bike without training wheels.  It’s because the bike it still too big for her and doesn’t have training wheels yet.  (He’s happier now.)

Anyway, I put the chain on it and told him to try.  It took 5 minutes and he was off the length of the driveway!  WOO HOO!!!  I’m really very proud of him.  We don’t have the luxury of pavement to learn how to ride a bike on, or even a smooth yard.  Our yard is really badly pitted and I’m not sure I could ride a bike on it, so I definitely didn’t expect him to.

He was proud too.  Now he wants a new bolt for his bike. 

****

The other thing to note is my uncle Robert passed away this week.  This was my dad’s brother and they had just buried a sister two months ago.  It’s really been a hard summer.

I’m ready for fall.  I’m ready for the weather, the football (Goooooo Mountaineers! and I really hope Michigan looses every game this year.)  I’m ready for our homeschool to start back (did I just say that?) and for us to get back into a routine again.  I’m ready for Sean to potty train…that’s coming next week after we get home from the funeral. 

I’m just ready for new!

I hope everyone else is having a great end to their summer as well!
~Michele

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Schatzi permalink
    August 9, 2008 4:24 pm

    Just stopping by to say hi….so sorry about your uncle…will pray for you during this difficult time…say congratulations to son for his bike riding accomplishment.

    Blessings,

    Connie

  2. Jessie @ Muthering Heights permalink
    August 10, 2008 8:14 pm

    I'm so sorry for your loss!

Leave a Reply

