Skip to content

Country Roads

April 29, 2008

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ve seen enough "country roads" to last me for a while.  Don’t get me wrong I LOVE our beautiful state of West Virginia, but this weekend about wore me out!  The kids and I drove to Virginia to see some friends (and my brother) and took a detour on the way back.  We drove along WV Route 50 and even for this country girl at heart, I was ready to be home.    We did see some wonderful scenery though!!

We stopped so that Kelsie could eat at the top of Saddleback Mountain and here was our hazy, but very pretty view.

Saddle back

The kids were very amazed by the 44 wind turbines as we got closer to Davis, WV.  (The photo I took was pretty bad, so this was one of the better ones I could find.) 

Then we were able to visit with Andrew’s Great Aunt and Uncle at Blackwater Falls for the day.  It’s a beautiful state park and part of me would like to go back in a couple of weeks when the Rhododendron  are in bloom.  They were EVERYWHERE. 

The 214 steps down weren’t a problem at all.  I can’t say they were fun to climb back up though!  (Although I did do better than I would have 5 months ago!) 






Timothy (Andrew’s younger brother), Aunt Louise & Uncle Dudley, and Andrew

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kimbercup permalink
    April 29, 2008 2:59 pm

    Hello! If you don't mind me asking, where are you in WV? My Dad lives here in GA now, but still has a house in WV, approx 30 miles south of Elkins. I've been to Black Water Falls several times. It is so pretty there. Made the trek down those steps to the Falls, too, only to have an asthma attack. Guess I'll just enjoy the view from the top. I've seen those Falls almost dry from lack of rain, but they seem to be flowing pretty good now. I'll be sure to tell my Dad. He's leaving tomorrow to go to his house. He'll be happy that there's water.
    Chat with you soon.
    In Him, Jill (the big sister) MannaMillingMoms

  2. GypsyFarmGirl permalink
    April 29, 2008 4:02 pm

    What great photos thanks for sharing, We have turbines here too in Ok. We think they are pretty neat. Have a wonderful day

  3. Anonymous permalink
    April 29, 2008 5:22 pm

    Fun!

    What's in the water to make the waterfall brownish?

    Sounds like you had a great time! You have adorable kids!

    Dawn
    http://dawn.homeschooljournal.net/

  4. JustaSEC permalink
    May 3, 2008 8:49 pm

    Thanks for the comments!

    Kimbercup–we're pretty close to Morgantown. As close as we are, neither my husband or I had been to Blackwater before. It was very pretty!

    Dawn–The "black" water is a result of tannic acid from fallen hemlock and red spruce needles. It's amazing.

Leave a Reply

