Skip to content

Catching up

February 1, 2008

Okay, so since Kelsie was born I’ve had all of 3 entries.  Guess it’s safe to say blogging has dropped on the priority list.  lol  Seriously though, it’s all about time.  Adjusting to 4 kids has been a lot harder than I thought it would.  Not that the kids have been any trouble, but the lack of sleep sure has.  Seriously.  From what I can remember of the other kids, even if they woke at night, they were fairly easy to get back to sleep.  Kelsie has some definite ideas about sleep patterns and I just do not agree with her.  Otherwise, we’re loving it!

This year, I am working on pruning down our ‘stuff’.  It’s not that we have a lot (which we do) or that we have too much (which we do) but more an issue of what we have doesn’t fit in the space that we have.  That makes for a definite storage problem for the things that we do need.  It’s hard.  Sentimental stuff is hard to get rid of.  It’s hard to imagine your mother’s treasures laying in a landfill somewhere.  Harder still to know you put them there.  Of course, why your mother considered them a treasure to begin with still up in the air, but that’s another story altogether. 

Quick update on the kids:

Christopher is doing great.  He’s still working on the maturity issues, but everyone tells me that for a boy of almost 7 he’s not that different than their boys of 7.  Really?  Wow, I must not remember being around 7 year old boys.  He’s VERY intelligent and doing great with his school work.  He just has a definite idea of what fun is and if a task doesn’t fit his definition of fun then he balks.  Today he told me he wanted to be President of the United States.  Wow.  Really?  "Yup, and the first rule I’m going to make is the older you get the less work you do."  Um…think about that for a minute son.  That means at 7, you’ll have more work to do than your daddy.  He didn’t like where the logic took that one. 

Andrew discovered a box of Capsela toys in the shed from when he was a boy.  Christopher is LOVING those.  I’m completely amazed at the things he builds with them.  Granted, he worked his way through the objects in the instructions and moved on to the things in his mind.  Again, it must be a 7 year old boy thing this momma doesn’t get.  Andrew, however, says it’s cool. 

Erin’s just turning into a total princess.  I don’t know how I got such a girlie girl, but I did.  She loves dresses and dolls and ponies.  I keep trying to get her to like football, but she’s just not getting it.  In regards to her future, she told me today (after Christopher announced he wanted to be President) that she wanted to be a dentist so she can tickle kids’ teeth.  Um, I’ve been to the dentist before.  I don’t remember tickling.  Anyone…?  She thinks the high speed toothbrush tickles.  Of course, she only wants to be a dentist in her spare time.  The rest of the time she wants to be married and have lots of girl babies.  Only girls.  She thinks about 15 is a good number.  I’m finding this HYSTERICAL.  I can’t wait until she has her first one and I can pull out her book and show her the things she has said.

Sean’s being Sean.  He’s potty training when the mood hits him and the M&Ms are available as a reward.  He likes to ambush the other two when they get their toys set up.  Of course, his trains are still his love and anytime I need for him to be occupied for a little while…I sneak out the GeoTrax and he’s ALL SET.  I know, sneaky momma, but it works.  Granted, he’s 3 now.  I’m not sure who ever dubbed the phrase "terrible twos" but all of my kids were WONDERFUL at 2 and then when they turned 3 some other little monster traded places with them for about a year and a half. 

Kelsie’s awesome.  Of course, she’s not even three months yet, but she’s just awesome.  At her 2 month appointment she weighed in at 16 lbs, 5 oz and was 25 1/4 inches long.  She’s growing like a weed!!  She’s too cute for words though and she’s got a whole house full of people that oooh and aaah over her every little baby noise. 

:SIGH:  Life is GRAND!!!

I know you a lot of you are waiting on pictures.  I’m getting to them.  Promise!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. homesteadinthemaking permalink
    February 2, 2008 7:52 am

    I'm glad you are all doing well. I know those sleepless nights are hard but it is only for a while.LOL
    Blessings,
    Trixi

  2. Anonymous permalink
    March 16, 2008 10:29 pm

    You need a cartoon of Kelsie up top!

    Hehe.

    Lisa

    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/UnOrdinaryLife/

Leave a Reply

