Skip to content

Don't fence me in

December 16, 2007

I’ve been on a Harry Connick, Jr. fix lately.  I’m LOVING this song off of his album "30".

HARRY CONNICK, JR. – Don’t Fence Me In
This is lyrics from http://www.lyrics007.com

Well, give me land, lots of land under starry skies above
But don’t fence me in
Let me ride through that wide open country that i love
Don’t fence me in
Let me be by myself in the evenin’ breeze
Listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees
Send me off forever but i ask you please
Don’t fence me in

Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
Underneath the western skies
On my cayuse, let me wander over yonder
Till i see the mountains rise

I want to ride to the ridge where the west commences

Gaze at the moon till i lose my senses
I don’t like hobbles and i can’t stand fences
Don’t fence me in

[Instrumental break]

Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
Underneath the western skies
On my cayuse, let me wander over yonder
Till i see the mountains rise

I want to ride to the ridge where the west commences
Gaze at that ole moon until i lose my senses
I can’t stand them hobbles and i don’t care for fences
Don’t fence me in

Oh no…don’t you fence me in

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kitty permalink
    December 16, 2007 10:57 am

    Girl, I love me some Harry Jr. LOL Im from around New Orleans so I think I'm suposed to love him. He is fab, I saw him on TV the other day in Memphis Bell, one of my favorite movies. ……..Kitty

  2. Keith permalink
    March 20, 2008 9:30 pm

    Instead of some "modern" interpretation try Gene Autry (ask MawMaw about him)

Leave a Reply

