Skip to content

Diary of an insane nesting woman

October 15, 2007

Wow.  Is it really almost 3:00 in the morning?  I was late heading to bed, but that was almost two hours ago.  It’s amazing what a little Mt. Dew (okay, a lot) and some motivation can do to a pregnant woman!  I headed into the kitchen to check the back door before going to bed.  Nothing special there, that’s normal routine, especially if I’m the last one to bed.  Andrew and I spent the last two days moving the kids into different bedrooms, so the kitchen was looking slightly neglected. 

*mental note —  start tomorrow with cleaning the kitchen {sigh}*  

I’m not sure what prompted me to do it, but I took a couple extra minutes to look and make sure the cordless phone was on the base.  BIG MISTAKE!  While looking for the phone a demonic ROACH  flashed across my kitchen counter and disappeared as quickly as it appeared. 

Okay, I’ll admit it.  Demonic is a strong word.  I don’t know if roaches really ARE demonic, however, anyone who has known me very long, knows I have threatened to MOVE out of an apartment in the past over the sight of one roach.  There is absolutely nothing more disgusting to me than a roach…except maybe knowing that if I saw one…there are probably GAZILLIONS of them waiting until I turn the lights off.  (Want to guess who is sleeping with the lights on tonight?)  

So, it’s 3:00 a.m.  I’m still awake.  We aren’t renting this place, it’s ours.  I can’t complain to the landlord.  I know what he would say.  "I told you so."  We had some things for the baby given to us and after bringing them into the house he removed them after seeing a critter amongst them. 

However, my kitchen no longer looks neglected!  I washed ALL the dishes.  I removed everything from the counters, including the piles of paperwork that seem to breed while we sleep at night.  I cleaned.  I scrubbed.  I degreased and disinfected.  I went looking for traces of the little demon in my cabinets.  *mental note — buy Borax tomorrow*  I didn’t see anything.  I’m even starting to wonder now in my post cleaning haze if I even saw the demon.   Of course, I didn’t stop with just the counters. 

About 20 minutes ago, Andrew stumbled from the bed room and looked at me with a total look of shock on his face.  I’m sure it was odd to see his wife scrubbing the OIL LAMPS! at 2:30 in the morning.  (Yes, the oil lamps.  I’m sure that would be a very logical place for a roach to think to hide if everything else in the room was clean.  Sheesh…)  He rubbed his eyes and looked at the clock and said "wha?"  I simply looked up and said "I think I saw a roach."  He rolled his eyes and went back to bed.  He won’t remember one bit of it in the morning.  I wish I could be awake when he gets up in the morning.  Maybe I can convince him a cleaning fairy visited while we were asleep! 

Now, I need the nesting bug to hit me for the rest of the house during normal operational hours.  Cleaning at 2 am might be productive, but I’m sure getting up with the kids in the morning won’t be!

Good night!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kitty permalink
    October 15, 2007 6:42 am

    You are too cute. I too hate the little devils. I do have a recipe for roach pills that is very easy to make with the borax. That way you don't have the powder all over the place with the kids around. It really works too. We have those great big ones that come inside your house to die. I made the recipe last spring and in a years time I think I might have had three come in and was able to kill them cuz they had slowed down. lol So let me know if you want the recipe.
    Kitty

  2. morningsunshine permalink
    October 15, 2007 7:48 am

    nothing like many-legged critters to make you go into cleaning frenzy! thank you for the great story.

  3. Katherine permalink
    October 15, 2007 12:14 pm

    Oh my, I am laughing so hard! Although, I would probably have done the exact same thing! BLECH! I hate roaches! My mother would definitely agree with you on their demonic status! LOL!

  4. July 20, 2010 9:28 pm

    LOL, I love this! I’d be the same way!

Leave a Reply

