Skip to content

Family Reunion

July 17, 2007

We just got back from a long weekend and a LONG overdue family reunion!  My dad’s family hadn’t been together in 9 years, since their mother died.  It was time.  I love my family (and extended family) so very much and 9 years was WAY too long to go between visits together.  Dad has nine siblings still alive and out of the 10 of them, 9 were able to make it to the reunion.  Aunt Dee, who was unable to attend is recovering from surgery and she was definitely there in spirit!

I think of the things that always amazes me about family is how God chooses them for us.  Looking around this weekend, I’m not sure that I would have choosen many of the people there as my family, were I given the choice.  Don’t ask why, because it’s not anything personal, some of them just aren’t the type of people that I tend to gravitate towards.  However, God knows what He is doing!  Wouldn’t it be boring if we were all the same and no one had any different opinions or viewpoints?  How would we be challenged to grow and to learn more about ourselves if no one ever pushed our challenges?  God is good all the time.

I did have a bit of a wake up call in terms of health though.  Over the last year I’ve been tested for just about everything you can think of.  Basically, I am perfectly healthy, but I am overweight.  Diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease and even cancer run in my family.    I think it’s seriously time for me to do some serious changing to get this weight off (after the baby comes of course!) 

I am truly blessed to have a large family that loves us and supports us, even when they don’t agree with some of our decisions.  I am truly blessed to be able to watch and learn from those much wiser and more experienced than I.  I am truly blessed that God placed me into MY family and as such, into a large extension of His world.  I am truly blessed for parents and aunts and uncles and cousins that love the Lord and are willing to share it.  I am truly blessed that after 9 LONG years we had a reunion and were able to connect again.

Thank you Father God for families.  Thank you for those that love You and love us.  Thank you Lord for all the blessings you give us each and every day and thank you SOO much for opening my eyes to some things that they needed to see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

