Skip to content

Knox is gone…

April 25, 2007

I apologize that it took me an extra day to get here and post this.  Knox passed away Monday night.  Yesterday was a very difficult day for us.  The kids were very sad when I told them but they had been praying for him all week and wanted to be kept updated.  Unfortunately, after loosing Joshua they understood a lot more than I wish they did at this age.  However, their responses were awesome!  Christopher was upset at first and very bummed that he didn’t know Knox personally.  Then they played all morning, pretending to be in heaven playing with him.  "I’ll be Knox and you be Joshua…let’s play dominoes!!! Wait…go get Jesus so he can play with us!"   How sweet, funny and heartbreaking all at the same time.  Crying or Very sad rofl Crying or Very sad

I can’t imagine the pain that Rachel and Jon are experiencing or their other 4 children.  I do know that God is good though and will hold them and comfort them in this tragic time.  Please remember to keep all of the Anderson family, their church family, and their friends in your prayers.  This is a hard time, but what blessed time too knowing that Knox has been taken to be at his Father’s throne!

As normal for me in times of sadness I turned to poetry.  I wrote this on Monday while I was waiting to hear a final update. 

Knox

Because of you
Baby boy with eyes so blue
I have called to my Father
with desperate tears
Because of you

Because of you
Precious little one, child of God
I have given more love and patience
to my own
Because of you

Because of you
Angel with a precious smile
I have laid down my own cares
for those of your family
Because of you

Because of you
Little one who had just begun to live
I have loved a family
I have never met
Because of you

Because of you
Sweet Knox Anderson
I trust more every hour
That He lives

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow,
Because He lives, all fear is gone,
Because I know, I know He holds the future,
And life is worth the living, Just because He lives!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. UnlikelyHomesteader permalink
    April 25, 2007 6:14 pm

    Little Knox has certainly touched a lot of lives in his short life.

  2. Teresa permalink
    May 12, 2007 2:26 am

    Beautiful poem Michele. You're a sweet and compassionate friend. This whole thing is so heartwrenching. I hope the parents and family are doing okay. God bless them all.

Leave a Reply

