Skip to content

What's for dinner?

March 16, 2007

Well, I just posted a comment on a blog about crockpot meals and now
I'm hungry.  I love my crockpot. I just hate cleaning it. I got
some of those crockpot liners…I will never use it again without them!
AWESOME and worth every penny. (yeah, it would be cheaper to clean it,
but it's worth it!)

I had meatloaf on the schedule for tonight, but posting this recipe has
me wanting it…so I'm changing my mind!  We're having French Dip
sandwiches.  Here's the recipe.

French Dip sandwiches

3-4 lb roast,thawed
1 packet Italian dressing mix
1 packet Beef Au Jus
2 cans beef broth
1 thinly sliced onion


Put roast in crockpot. Layer onions around/over roast. Sprinkle with
seasonings, and pour broth over. Cover and cook on high for 4 hrs and
then on low for 4 hrs.

(or on low overnight, but the few times I've done this we end up eating
it before dinner.  The house smells SOOOO good!) 
Serve beef on french bread (sandwich style) and dip sandwich into broth. (DH asks for this at least once a month!)


I just buy a loaf of french bread at the store and cut it all the way
down the center like you would to fill it with meat (easier to cut
before heating up), then I spread butter on the top and stick it into a
300 degree oven for 8-10 minutes till the top is crisp.



DH likes his with peppers too, but since the rest of us don't like
those I normally do the peppers seperate in the skillet and toss them
on his.  I like some cheese in mine…YUM! 

Let me know if you try it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 4timesblessed permalink
    April 3, 2007 4:24 pm

    I've had this before (minus the sliced onions) and it is sooooo goooood! I think I need to make it again – soon šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

