Skip to content

Open Eyes

March 15, 2007

Okay, my husband reads my poetry and says “I don't get it.”  I'm
not even sure I get it sometimes.  LOL  I write it and I
definitely have something in my head when I'm writing it, but it's hard
to explain to anyone.  So, for the questions “what does it mean?”
my answer is simply “what do you think it means?”  (Yes'sir that's the homeschooling momma in me!)  HA!

Open Eyes


Open eyes of a foreseen
world

Stare back at me.
They tell of things I knew
would come,

But never really wanted to
believe.

I don’t know how They
started,

Or what They wanted me to
see.

All I know is that They are
here

And place all Their trust–
In me.

Open eyes of a distant world
Cry out in the night.
They shout the stories I
knew so well,

But never, can I remember
the plot.

I can’t tell you where They
started,

Or how They thrill me with
delight.

All I know is that They are
wonderful,

And place all Their
secrets–

In me.

Open eyes of a vacant world
Slowly start the descent.
They tell me everything of
my life,

But never will I openly
receive.

I don’t know how the stories
started,

Or where they will start to
ferment.

All I know is that They live
in me,

And place all of Their
glorious wonder–

In me.


—-MB

2 Comments leave one →
  1. zoggypdx permalink
    March 16, 2007 12:51 am

    That is truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing it.

    Peace

    Raymond

  2. JustaSEC permalink
    March 16, 2007 8:23 am

    Wow! That's the first that hasn't been "I don't get it." Truly appreciate it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

